Help developing a Permaculture and a Forest Bathing (Shinrin-Yoku) project in an old abandoned ghost village

  • Favourited 124 times
  • Last activity: 10 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    I am an ex salesman in the automotive market who decided ten years ago to shift my life from the bad "old economy" to a deep desire to do something really positive in my life: starting do something right for the environment and my territory.

    So, since 2017 i am working for this project, a very simple and rural way of accomodation, a Bivouac, born at the feet of a 1600 d.c ghost village were i have spent months in taking away the forgotten village from the vegetation attack and than i have used tents and small wood units as a places where to sleep in.

    This activity is born from the true desire to create benefits for the environment and for the locals old farmers, more and more rare citizens in a world launched in the wrong direction.. and benefits even for my Soul...i must admit!

    The project has been run already in the 2018 season, offering hospitality to bikepakers and trekkers: the location is in the very green and still wild Val di Vara Valley, just behind the world famous 5 Terre Marine National Park.

    Our project offers to the traveler the opportunity to stop at the foot of an abandoned 18th century village, sleep in an outdoor living solution, experience contact with the pure and uncontaminated nature that the organic valley can offer (Bio district of Val di Vara), choose naturalistic outdoor experiences such as trekking, walks in the woods, mountain bike itineraries and, from this year, the holistic forest wellness activity Shinrin -Yoku or forest bathing.

    The element of water as added value to the place and holistic activities will also be enhanced this year with the creation of the River Garden, a small privately owned green oasis on the bank of the river.

    We are also dedicated to creating habitats and spaces aimed at feeling good in Nature, to improve individual status and recover physical and mental energy.

    Forest bathing or, better, Shinrin-Yoku is today increasingly considered and appreciated as a preventive therapy.

    Immersion in nature has therapeutic effects that are also scientifically proven: it is able to reduce the concentrations of the body's stress hormone, strengthen the immune system, regulate blood pressure and heart rate, and lower cholesterol.

    Who i am looking for?

    Well, we need to maintain the place clean from the coming of the forest, and we also need someone who cooks basic and simple meals for an avarage of 3 persons.

    Gardening, simple cooking and keeping the hospitality area clean is all we need.

    I can offer a camper where to sleep in and a kitchen to cook.

    Food will be provided by us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak Italian and English.
    Interested people could have the opportunity to use their skills and their fantasy to create things, places and to act with nature.
    Local farmers will be available to offer to everyone their experience, showing agricoltural techniques and having the need of new people interested in their way of life: this is a precious and inestmable gift we all can offer to old people.
    I also must say that the place is located in the Bio Food district of Val di vara - Varese Ligure . the first Bio District created 15 years ago in Italy...

  • Help


    We need to maintain the place clean from the coming of the forest, and we want to get back in life some rural buildings now covered by brambles and trees and build with local materials small outside areas where visitors can manage their things during the stay.

    I can offer a camper where to sleep in and a kitchen to cook.
    A room in the house could be available.
    Food will be provided by me.

    I appreciate Workawayers able to use gardening instruments as lawnmovers and grass scissors.

    A hammer and nails could be the daily instruments but also walking trought the paths around the village in order to keep them open from the coming of the vegetation and let them be usefull for touristic purpouses.
    We could have to complete the fence, to cut the grass
    and to clean and stylish to create a pearl inside the forest..!
    A small outside wood chicken must be built before the starting of the summer!
    I host for a minimum of one week and as long as is comfortable for you and me. Board and lodging in exchange for 25 hours of work per week.

    The farm is isolated and a small private project.
    If you come for tourism, surfing, meeting people, "fun" and partying or looking for a community, this is definitely not the place for you.
    If you want to immerse yourself in nature, learn about gardening, take care of land and help us to develop this Forest Bathing Holistic Area, plant trees, and if you love silence and time to yourself, then you've come to the right place.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Workawayers will have a roulotte or a 2 place tent as a place where to stay.
    These accomodations are located in the bivouac area, in the green area among trees but very close to the old ghost stone village, where the owners also stay.
    A kitchen is available for cooking needs, along with refrigerator and microwave owen.
    This is not a business activity but a personal environing and landscape protecting project coordinated with the local administration, for outdoor touristic activity such as mountain bike, hiking, and cultural site discovering.
    The site is located 3 km of a non-asphalt road (but drivable also with a passenger car) from the nearest small village: the bigger and main village Sesta Godano (Sp) is 6 km far, and there everything is available from supermarket, restaurants, bank, bar etc.
    Workawayers will have bicycle available.
    The accomodation for the workawayers at the Bivouac is very similar to a camp style area: caravan or tent with an outside toilette equipped with hot water and shower, cooking facilities and a lot of free space around for the free hours.
    Freedom is garanteed as the working projects are flexible and mainly they are based to a country house managing or small hospitality procedures for the tourists on the way.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village is located 6 km from the main village where there are bars, bus station, bank an restaurants and supermarkets.
    The place is GREAT for outdoors activity enthusiast: trekking, mountain bikes tours, horseriding, rafting and canyoning available.
    we are inside a National Park and old stone villages, churches and much more con be visited.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 441465611511

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)

Teach us English and help with household chores while exploring local history in Acicastello, Italy
Enjoy Italian family life and help us care for our vegetable garden in Sicily, Italy.