updated   Last minute

Come and help us with our house and garden renovations while discovering the local culture in Mardore, France

  • France
  • Favourited 41 times
  • Last activity: 5 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a Dutch couple (51 and 54), living in France since 2020 with our 3 dogs, 2 cats and 2 pigs. Two years ago we bought this amazing property that is a couple of hundred years old. It is a beautiful setting, surrounded by hills and pine trees with great views from the terraces. The wildlife is vast with great opportunities to see birds of prey. It is very peaceful with great walks right from the door.
    We are in the Beaujolais vert, 70 km northwest of Lyon. The train that will take you into Lyon is 15 minutes away, the nice town of Roanne is 30 minutes by car. Famous and less famous wine areas are close, such as the Bourgogne, Côte du Rhône, Beaujolais and Côte Roannaisse.
    There are many renovation projects in the house, but also the garden and surrounding area can use a little TLC. We do the majority of work ourselves and can use a helping hand. So if you would like to experience countrylife in a French chateau, and willing to work with us on very diverse projects please stay with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak Dutch, German and English, all of which you could practice while with us. We speak conversational French but welcome French speaking people to improve our French.

    You can improve your DIY skills, or learn new ones. You can learn about outdoor working and landscaping. You can discover the local culture, including the Beaujolais wines, and can join us when we go treasure hunting at the local brocante markets.

  • Help


    We like to work with our hands and do most of the renovation work ourselves; Richard is mainly the DIY indoor guy, and Marloes is in charge of the outdoor work. We welcome any help as it is much nicer to work together.
    The current indoor projects are very diverse and include plastering walls, sanding beams, painting, creating bathrooms and kitchens, interior design.
    For outside we can use help with fencing, building dry stone walls, cutting bushes, weeding, creating a new vegetable garden, feeding and taking care of the pigs etc.

    It would be great if you have some experience in DIY or gardening, if not... a positive mindset and willingness to learn new skills is also good enough!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have several bedrooms and bathrooms, the renovated ones with en suite bathrooms. It is in a separate part of the house with its own living room and kitchen. We will provide all you need for meals, and would encourage you to join us for lunch and/ or evening meals if that suits you.

    After a hard day of work you are welcome to swim in the pool or relax on the loungers around the pool.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is an excellent place to enjoy nature, go on a hike, horse riding, or simply relax at the pool.
    Preferably you have your own transport for further exploring the region.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 439955687437

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Gardening, repairs, self-sufficiency, chaos and creativity in Saint-Georges, Pas-de-Calais, France
Helper to join our family in La Chapelle Chaussee, Brittany, France