Help on our homestead and learn how to care for livestock and bees near Nelson, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 129 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we have approximately 53ha between two properties. The main homestead is on 4ha and the remaining 49 ha is a small sheep and cattle farm. We are currently setting up a beekeeping business as well. We are a middle aged couple with three adult children (one still at home), three lovely dogs and a cat. You will have your own room upstairs at the homestead. There is also a bathroom and toilet upstairs as well. We have a large open plan kitchen/dining/lounge but if you would prefer your own space there is a separate lounge. We have a reasonably large garden and we are within 10minutes of the nearest town and close to beaches and a 40 minute drive to the beautiful Abel Tasman National Park

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning new skills with livestock and bees and and finding out about the beautiful piece of the world that we call home.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We require a bit of help with weeding and keeping up with our garden, some general household chores, collecting firewood, window cleaning etc. we also would be offering a bit of help on the farm with the stock and checking and repairing fences. If you are interested and are not allergic to bees there is also the opportunity to help out with the hives, so if this sounds good to you, we would love to hear from you

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your room is upstairs in the homestead. It has a comfortable queen size bed, there is also a bathroom and toilet which is also used by our adult daughter and her partner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live ten minutes from Richmond and 25 minutes from Nelson. There is a very nice beach 5 minutes away and Abel Tasman National Park 40 minutes away where there are beautiful walking tracks, beaches, swimming, kayaking etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 439769499631