Stay in a gypsy caravan in Pembridge, UK and help with their restoration

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 961 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    54  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    275

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a Showmans Wagon in an ancient apple orchard. Most of my work involves the restoration of horse drawn wagons and other related projects. There's always work to be done. I'm happy to share my skills with keen people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    If you're good at carpentry that's great, but really I'm not looking for just skilled help. Sanding and painting of wagons would really help me out. There's so much to do, from cooking,cleaning of wagons to collecting and chopping wood. This summer my projects include building a new barn / workshop as well as maintaining the beautiful apple orchard.
    I have a donkey 'Archie' who's a real character and he pulls a cart and may be ridden.
    You can walk to the lovely village of pembridge (10 mins walk)
    It's full of 14th century timber framed houses.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a number of Gypsy wagons you can stay in which are comfortable but basic.
    There's a shower block and compost loo and also a washing machine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm looking for happy, independent , dynamic people who are keen to help, learn and share experiences.
    Please read this again before applying to help out at mine.
    I really like to get things done but at the same time, fun and laughter is such an essential part of life.
    If you are shy or very introverted and quiet I'd rather you apply to another host. I usually have more than one workawayer staying at a time so it's more of a family atmosphere.
    Looking forward to sharing experiences with you all.
    Fingers crossed for a sunny summer!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours

Unloading timber
Chopping wood
Gypsy bowtop wagon
On the road - delivering a pickers wagon
Projects in the workshop































Host ref number: 438856861779