We are a Swedish-Catalan family, living in a nice coast town, close to Barcelona. We would enjoy some help and company!



Favourited 44 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are a Swedish-Catalan family, living in a nice coast town, close to Barcelona. We are looking for a "part time" workawayer, for some help and company!

    Our family consists of:

    Cecilia, originally from Sweden, although I have been living in and loving this place for more than 17 years now... Time flies! I have worked with many diferent things, but at the moment I work mostly as a guide and an interpreter. I am in love with brazilian music and I enjoy dancing salsa!
    Pol, garderener and social worker. Loves to talk about politics and watch football games. Makes delicious paella and tortilla de patata.
    Gustav, 10 years old. At the moment completely lost in the football universe. Loves to play, watch games, collect cards and talk about football. A sweet and noble caracter, exept from when it comes to his smaller brother... At the moment moment also discovering climbing and some drawing.
    Sam, 8 years old. Pretty much taking after his big brother when it comes to football. But also very different. He has loads of fantasy and loves to play all kinds of games.

    We have had au-pairs and exchange workers for many years now. We are very used to and enjoy to share our home with people from other places! So far, all our experiences have been incredibly positive! Our home is often a lively place, with friends and family visiting!

    Mataró is a town on the coast, north of Barcelona. There are local busses and trains that take you to the big city in 30-40 minutes. But Mataró itself has everything you need for your daily life! We live right in the old centre of the town, with it's charming narrow streets and typical street life. Mataró has wide beaches that can be enjoyed big parts of the year!

    We prefer long term stays!!! If you plan to stay for less than a month, look for another host! ;)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our family is multicultural, and a person staying with us will get both Catalan and Swedish culture. I speak Swedish with the boys and the main family language is Catalan. But we have no problem speaking Spanish, if the person staying with us is interested in learning Spanish. The children can also be very helpfull with this.
    Staying in Mataró gives you an oportunity to get to know authentic Catalan life style, far away from the tourists, but at the same time Barcelona, with it's never ending cultural offer, is only 40 minutes away. What you do not find in Mataró, you will definitely find in Barcelona!
    Catalunya in general is also a very rich area with many diferent and beautiful landscapes in a rather small area, and many interesting historical places to visit.
    If you plan to study or work part time with something else, this is a perfect deal, as our need of help is small, and can be combined with other activities!

  • Help


    Our main need of help concerns our two boys, Sam and Gustav. I prefer somone to be around those times I have to leave early for work (not too often). Pol leaves early every day and school starts at 9. Making lunch for them a couple of days a week is also something we would appreciate. And occasional thiings that might turn up. We would love someone who can speak Swedish or English with them, but it is not a condition. They speak Swedish, Spanish, Catalan, some English and some Portuguese. And are used to comunicate in new languages!
    A part from some hours of baby sitting, we would appreciate some general help in the household, with cleaning, cooking, doing the dishes, cooking, washing etc.
    Our need of help is rather small, as is our economy, so the deal we are looking for is maximum 10 hours per week, in change of lodging. This means food not included. If you like the way we eat, we would be happy to share food and food expenses with you (the easiest way, and what we normally do), but if you prefer to do it seperately, that´s fine too. We try to be as flexible as possible with "working" hours, so that you can combine your stay here with other activities.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, Spanish, Catalan, Portuguese, some French

  • Accommodation


    Our house, where we moved in less than a year ago, is an old house in the city center. It is devided in 3 floors, where every floor is rather small. To our workawayers, we offer a private room on the 3rd floor. The room has a big bed, a wardrobe, a table with chairs an a bookshelf. There are two toilets in the house, but only one bathroom, which is on the 2nd floor. We all share this bathroom. On top of the house there is a beautiful roof top terrace. We have not had the time to make it cosy up there yet, but we will soon, for sure.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 10 hours per week

Host ref number: 437338292632