Share experiences with our family in a beautiful area, close to the coast and bush in Flowerdale, Tasmania, Australia



Favourited 16 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    We are a family of three living in Tassie's North West. We are Jess(Aus) and Will(UK) in our early thirties, and Abigail who is 3. We met while Jess was volunteering in the UK. She has volunteered in numerous countries and we have volunteered in Aus together.
    Will works away from the home and Jess is a stay at home mum.

    We live in Flowerdale which is a farming area situated between Wynyard and Boat Harbour. We live on a small rural block with sheep, chickens, ducks and a dog called Letty.

    We are looking for someone to help with painting and to get our veggie patch sorted. Also need just some general help around the yard and house, depending on what's needed as we dont get a lot of time for this with a young child.

    There is no public transport to our house, but we are happy to help with this where possible. Wynyard is less that 10 minutes away from our house and Burnie about half an hour. There are several beaches close by with a river with walking tracks, good fishing spots and shops. We often spot platypus down the road from our house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful area, close to the coast and the bush. We love meeting people and sharing experiences. We are friendly and open and can't wait to learn about what we can teach each other. Happy to teach you about whatever interests you at our house. We do some home brewing, fermenting, baking, cooking, mushrooming in the autumn gardening ect. We arent experts but we have fun trying! Maybe you can teach us?

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We ask for 4 hours per day with two days off a week. We are flexible with helping times and days. As we have a small child we will sometimes ask you to work alone but will sometimes be with you, depending on what is happening on the day.

    We always have a lot of weeding to do in the garden. We just cant keep on top of it. We have a few painting project we want to complete, so lots of sanding and prepping as well as painting. Also always need help around the house, lawn mowing, walking the dog, cleaning the chicken pen, fencing, pruning, general maintenance.

    We also expect you to help out with general day to day stuff around the house while staying with us, such as washing up, tidying, packing/unpacking the dishwasher etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation will be in your own room in our house. Although it is in our house it is kind of like a granny flat down one end. We have two bathrooms in the house, one is shared but mainly for your use. There are two living areas and an 8 ball table in the shed.

    We are able to accommodate families, couples, friends, singles and potentially pets.

    We will provide meals, breakfast will be help yourself and we will have at least one cooked meal together a day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are nice beaches and walking tracks near our home, but as we are rural, transport is needed to get there. If you have your own transport, that's great but otherwise we will be happy to arrange lifts around our schedules to near by places. There is a river close by for fishing and platypus spotting and we have a small dam with a little boat. Letty is always up for a walk and Abigail loves playing! We like to go for walks on the weekend or to the park or beach if the weather is nice. We sometimes go for outings to near by towns. We have a couple of camping and fishing things to loan if you are interested and a bike or two. Happy to help with whatever you are interested if possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 436752756164