Spend time in a riverside location with our 18 year old daughter (Down syndrome). France

Country

France

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family and dog live in a beautiful riverside place. We spend a lot of time in our potager, we kayak, swimm and walk a lot. We also do some minor renovation works in our house. Our 18 year old daughter loves the above and other stuff like drawing, art, fashion, filming with her ipad, jumping on the trampoline and much more. She is a down's syndrome child so her abilities are a bit different and needs some support. She used to go horseriding in the center near us, could you get her motivated again? Is the child in you waking up? Then we would like to invite you and offer you a basic room or attick, share our bathroom, use the internet and enjoy nature that surrounds us. We live 5 km from the village Lathus Saint Rémy with a pub and basic shops. We are close to the Roc d'Enfer and the Sault de la Brame, two natural beauties. The nearest towns are 15 minutes drive and worth visiting! We have transport and can give you a ride so you can spend time in town while we do our shopping runs.

    For van dwellers we can work out something...we have a parking with internet and can make a deal that might suit you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can practise your educational and communicative skills and add 'personal assistant' on your c.v. We offer good and fresh food, a private room (basic), family atmosphere.
    You are surrounded by nature and we have a riverside property where you can swimm or kayak. Internet could be a benefit for a digital nomad or just to stay in contact with your friends. Occasionally we could work something out for people with children because she enjoys the company.

  • Help

    Help

    Assisting a 18 year old down's syndrome girl with being herself.Do things together such as drawing, ipad filming, watch dvd's and dance, play with playmobile, talk and laugh, swimm, gardening, jump on trampoline, hide and seek and whatever you two invent. You can cook our meal together or try to do some other easy housekeeping together. Her native language is Dutch/Flemish, dad is English so that is her second language. She can communicate with French, Catalan, Spanish, German speaking people (don't ask how, but she seems to understand).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, French, German, native Flemish, basic Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one spare room with a double bed, light, internet, table and chair, cabinet. Or an attick with similar commodoties. We cook with fresh ingredients as much as possible. Vegans, vegetarians, glutenfree, etc will have to coach us or do it yourself so we can learn from you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are busy people in a laid back way. Depending on the season and weather we organise our days. It would be nice if you could spend 5 hours per day with our daughter. Timeschedule is various depending on your desires. If you like to go on a morninghike then you help in the afternoon or evening.... If we need to do things and like you to support our daughter we discuss our planning with you.
    Our area is ideal for naturelovers although we also have some pittoresque places to visit. It is not a place for nightlife...so maybe a bit dull for party animals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, weekends to be arranged

Martine and Maverick
Manon
Potager
Riverside
We live in the two houses left back.


Host ref number: 435651539148