Help classify my many books that I can give to the local library and join me by the sea in Normandy, France

Country

France

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My house has a history: it was my son's great-grandmother’s farm and I have been restoring it for 10 years.
    One day I'll show you pictures of what it was before my son, who is an architect, made plans for this beautiful home. It is well integrated in the hamlet. It is only two steps away from the sea that can be seen from some of the windows and heard. This is where I live most of the time.

    After having traveled a lot and lived in different places, such as Montpellier in the south of France, Reunion’s island in The Indian Ocean and Madagascar, I decided to drop my luggage in this hamlet where I have very nice memories.

    Here the sea is beautiful, the colors are beautiful, calm reigns, nature surrounds us , life is punctuated by the sea. However the House is not remote, it is part of a village. My son walked away from that house to enjoy Montpellier's sun but he's happy to come with his family for the holidays. I also get a lot of friends visiting,coming from many different countries. The House was designed to accommodate many people. At the moment I am alone in this House .

    A young friend from Georgia (former USSR and not the USA's Georgia) helps me to work in the rebuilding of the house.
    It's the perfect place for those who love nature and the sea. Life in the village changes according to the season. When come spring and summer everything comes alive and holiday’s homes open to friends and families.

    I have had a thousand lives, each one as rich as the other but I won't describe them here. With you, I'll start the thousand and one life.
    I take care of my son's Canoe Kayak Club, club he set up in Montpellier as he was once canoe slalom world champion ! This occupation requires me to go 2-3 times a year in Montpellier.

    I am an excellent cook and I love to share what I cook.
    I like people and life very much and I deeply believe in sharing and exchanging.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Other
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In return I can offer you the sharing of my skills and my active lifestyle at the pace that you will like.
    All my life I participated in cultural exchanges. For several years in Montpellier I welcomed foreign students (American, Canadian, Japanese, English Mauritians, Malians etc...).
    I know very well the nature, plants, sea and especially the traditions of my country.
    I can also teach you French and his literature.
    I very often go to the cinema, see shows and listen to music. You can share these activities with me according to your desires.
    And then I'll be very happy to make you discover this beautiful region so little known where the colors vary unceasingly over time. It has not been by chance that painters and poets inspire themselves and settled there.
    And especially if somebody told you that it rains everyday don't believe it. When it rains, it is rare that it lasts all day. And if it is rarely very hot it is also never very cold.

  • Help

    Help

    I take part of the creation of the village library and I need help to classify my many books and find the ones that I can give to the library.
    As Cherbourg is a harbour there are many migrants who come here and I help prepare meals for them. I also help in the administrative procedures they have to go through. In order to welcome these foreigners, we need people who speak foreign languages (apart from French) .
    To give my old house a soul I wish to plant an organic vegetable garden. This is why helpers are required to set it up and to take care of it.
    I also need finishing touches to do for conversion and decoration in a way that I can receive guests on holiday.
    I also need help for some indoor painting, redecorating and so on work so I can welcome more guests.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    My native language is French. I speak basic English and I understand daily German but I can’t speak it.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a separate bedroom with a bathroom integrated. This room is located right at the entrance of the house and you can enter and leave completely independently.
    In the large common room there is the kitchen, dining area and sitting area with a fireplace.
    We take our meals in common, but if you want peace you can bring you a tray on the floor where I laid out a corner office and relaxation. It is the place that you can see the sea.
    I don't smoke but you can smoke outside on the large terrace which you can access from your room.
    Overall I prepare meals and we will share them if you wish. I can adapt my cooking to all tastes and needs. Personally I'm not a vegetarian but you are free to eat your own way. I'm trying to make possible the healthier food and I purchases fresh food to the nearest town market.
    There is no pet at home because I travel too much to take responsibility for an animal.
    There is Wifi throughout the House, but I don't have TV.
    The nearest town, Cherbourg, is 9 km away. The road leading there follows the sea and is very nice. You can get there by bus (there are several in the day) or bike. I'll put a bike at your disposal. I go several times a week in the city and you can come with me if you wish.
    1.5 km away there is a small shopping mall with pharmacy, bakery and doctors and 500 m there is a restaurant, bar, tobacco, bakery and post office.
    The sea is 200 meters away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can enjoy all the activities related to the sea: at Cherbourg you can do sailing, sea kayaking 1 km away, at 3 km the sky surfing etc... and everywhere you can fish and walks is in edge of sea, or go for walks in the countryside. At 4 km distance you can also practice riding.
    At Cherbourg there all the cultural activities: theatre, cinemas, several rooms show, Museum, library, exhibitions. Paris is 3 hours of train. Caen, university town, is at an hour and a half by train. I occasionally go there to the Opera.
    From Cherbourg we can go very easily and quickly in England.
    You can visit all the historical sites associated with the war 1939/1945and the D.Day. That still has many vestiges of this time.
    There are also some amazing mansions and very old churches to discover everywhere.
    And then there is the famous Mont Saint Michel where I go regularly, because I have friends who live there.
    In fact there are a lot of things, places and people to discover, it's impossible to describe here everything.
    But you will always find something that fits your expectations and your interest.
    I am very curious about life in general and of cultural life in particular, also I do not hesitate to move in order to listen to a concert, see an opera or other cultural activities. I also have many friends who live in many different places and that I often visit. You are welcome to share and enjoy my mobility.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 435447438879