Gardening & renovation help in the beautiful Lot region of SW France

Country

France

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nยบ of Facebook friends

    206

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 70 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are based in the beautiful and historic Lot region of Southern France. The house is a 200 year old traditional French stone farmhouse with outbuildings and lots to do! The main house is comfortably renovated and now work centers around renovating a little house and getting the grounds under control and making garden areas.

    This is a stunning area and perfect for relaxing, walking, cycling, reading, wildlife spotting , and sightseeing. The historic town of Cahors is 30 minutes by car. In summer there are always things happening...village fรชtes, wine festivals, old car rallys, farmers markets, brocante markets, music concerts etc. Lots to do and see.

    The property is situated 90 minutes north of Toulouse with the airport of Bergerac at around a 90 minute drive.

    The house was uninhabited for 20 years and I have spent the last 6 years renovating it as money permitted. I am so fed up living in a building site and really need your help! This year I want to turn my attention to the grounds and try to create something beautiful around the house and renovate a small out building to create extra guest space and an artist workshop. Have you got the skills, experience and imagination to help me achieve that?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Quercy region of France is exceptionally beautiful and steeped in history. I would be delighted to spend some downtime with you showing you walking routes and local sights if you wished.

    I like cooking and sewing so happy to share my knowledge with you.

    When it comes to building and gardening tasks if we don't know something there's bound to be a YouTube tutorial ๐Ÿ˜‚

    There is a very active multicultural community here with French, English, Dutch and Belgians all jollying along together.

    We have a walking group on Tuesday mornings which you would be welcome to join.

    In summer there is a bustling weekly farmers market with live music in a nearby village which is great fun to visit.

    I can help you brush up your English and of course there will be daily opportunities to speak French.

  • Help

    Help

    The priority for 2018 is to get the little house habitable so I am really looking for people with building skills and experience like, masonry, carpentry, electrics and plumbing.

    I have some health problems which prevent me from doing heavy work lifting or involving lots of kneeling and bending.

    This placement would suit a mature in attitude, energetic couple or individual. You will need to be outgoing, hardworking, enjoy working outside, in good health, helpful, easy to get along with and sociable. You will need to have a "can do" attitude, be motivated and able to help without constant supervision. Most importantly you must have a sense of humour!! In return you will experience real day to day life in the French countryside in a real French community.

    Tasks in the grounds would include cutting wood, digging, weeding, pruning, planting, grass cutting, hedge trimming etc according to the time of year along with general tidying and clearing up of grounds & outbuildings

    A clean full driving licence is essential and experience with a trailer highly desirable.

    I am a native English speaker and my French is also fairly good so we can speak either.

    Skills/capabilities which would be a great asset are:

    Drystone walling
    French electrics
    Plumbing
    Plaster boarding
    Upcycling
    Garden planning / landscaping
    Woodworking skills
    Construction skills
    Painting and decorating

    Whilst the intention is to work outside in the event of bad weather there is interior tasks to do. Don't worry you won't be bored!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I offer comfortable accommodation in my own home, wi fi,(bring your own laptop), TV in both French & English and of course good food. You will have your own double bedroom and share the rest of the house.

    Meals will be provided. I eat mainly vegetarian & fish based meals.

    I usually have a productive veg garden so eat home grown produce when available. However due to planned work in 2018 the veg garden will be more limited.

    You can equally bring your own camping car, caravan or camp if you would prefer more privacy or not to be in the house.

    The household also includes a very sweet little Yorkshire terrier, a neurotic Siamese ninja cat and 3 chickens. There are even nesting Perigrine falcons in the cliffs behind the house. As my cat is very territorial and highly strung I am not able to accept other dogs.

    This is a no smoking household.

    The placement would suit a couple travelling together or an individual. The farmhouse is in the countryside about 10 minutes drive to the nearest town, so a car (or motorbike :)) is probably essential.

    As the accommodation is in my own peaceful home I would ask that you are sensitive to this.... no midweek late night raves and the like ;) You will be expected to help out with cooking, cleaning and general household chores.

    This is a wonderful wine growing area and you are welcome to try the local wines. I would ask you to be responsible and ensure your alcohol consumption doesn't impact on your help or relationship with others.

    I want everyone to have a happy positive experience so we reserve the right to end the work placement early if things aren't working out for us all.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Being both French and English speaking this is a great chance to develop your existing language skills.

    The Quercy Blanc is an area of outstanding natural beauty with unspoilt rolling valleys and sleepy white stone villages and hamlets nestled into the hillsides around, historic fortified villages perched on hilltops around every corner, stunning fields of sunflowers and plenty of sunshine.

    The countryside around is great for walkers. There are lots of well signposted walks/hikes in the vicinity and we are only minutes away from the famous pilgrim route of St Jacques de Compostelle. We are situated 25 minutes from the historic market town of Cahors. and in the heart of the Cahors wine region with plenty of domains and vineyards to visit.

    To find out more about things to do in the area visit the Cahors Office de Tourisme website.

    If you're looking for an active nightlife this is not the place for you. But for lovers of a quiet and tranquil environment, it's perfect. There's lots to do in the region including walking, local fetes, interesting cultural events, plus a wide variety of free music and concerts.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Volunteers are expected to be available 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week which could include weekends with 2 days off during the week. I'm pretty flexible so we can organise this between us

The project is progressing :)
Workawayer Oscar tucking into Chinese Hotpot ... yummy! ๐Ÿ˜Š
Lily looking cute as ever โ™ฅ๏ธ
Le Pont Valentrรฉ at Cahors... the oldest existing example still intact in Europe
The chickens in their upcycled pallet home. They would love a larger enclosure....can you help???
The happy sunflower typical of this area
View from the terrace ๐Ÿ’–
The main house my home ๐ŸŒž
Walking in the beautiful countryside around Roquefas
Healthy meal with garden produce ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ๐Ÿ‰
The barn down below the house
The village facing the house




Host ref number: 432835146757