Join our family, grow veggies and build stuff at our tiny permaculture homestead in Albertville, Alabama, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 47 times
  • Last activity: 29/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We could use urgent help in the garden and yard, doing landscaping, building a fence, mowing, and designing different areas.

    Summary: We are a small family with a 23-month-old who has been traveling for the last couple of years looking for a place to call home. We have finally found it in Alabama! Our little piece of land is beautiful and is next to a river! We have the best of both worlds being out in the country with the peacefulness of nature but also a 15-minute drive to all the amenities we need. We have lots of ideas for the land and could use some help. We have been studying permaculture some, but not enough to really know what we are doing yet haha. We'd also like help to build a tiny home on the property, maybe with cob.

    About us: We love to travel, play board games, play pickleball, swim, do yoga, hike, and have meaningful conversations. We enjoy doing language exchanges and learning new things from everyone that we meet. We have done workaways in the past but this is our first time as hosts!

    Who we are looking for: Non-smokers. Anybody who is handy, knows anything about permaculture design and planning, builders, carpenters, gardeners, etc. We would love to have other families come to stay with us! Our baby is very social and loves other kids (but if you don't have kids that's ok too).

    ***Please do not apply if you are a cigarette smoker or do not like kids and animals***

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about living in the country, composting, yoga, permaculture, living in the United States (or a different area if you are already here).
    We can teach you how to play pickleball!
    We can teach yoga.
    We can share stories, laughter, ideas, and languages.
    You can speak Russian with Misha.
    You can speak English with Misha or Niki.
    You can worldschool/homeschool your kids here!

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening
    Landscaping
    Making a garden/zen area
    Permaculture Design & Planning
    Building a tiny home and treehouse
    Working with cob
    Language Exchange (Russian, English, Spanish)
    Clearing brush
    Building a deck
    Making things with pallets
    Cleaning
    Building a fence

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 5th Wheel RV that has power, water, and a composting toilet. It's cute and comfy.

    Tent camping (during warmer months). We can provide a tent, air mattress, blankets, etc if you don't have them.

    We have a composting toilet and solar shower.

    We have 1 RV hookup available with water and power if you have a campervan/RV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time, there is a ton to do in the area and on the land itself. There is a river/creek for swimming, kayaking, fishing, relaxing a 5-10 minute WALK away. You can do yoga, have a picnic, meditate, read, play games, ping pong or hangout with us!

    Lake Guntersville State Park with a swimming beach, boating, golf, hiking, biking, horseback riding, zipline, etc is a 15-minute drive away.
    Sand Mountain Park and Amphitheater with a sports complex, water park, playground, dog park, etc is a 15-minute drive away.
    Grocery stores 8 ish minutes away.
    Huntsville is the closest bigger city that has museums, Whole Foods, Trader Joes, Sprouts, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can do off-grid camping or if available we have an RV spot with water and electricity hookups. No sewer hookups but we have an outdoor toilet available.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    On a case-by-case basis. Please message us to discuss the details.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours per week with no food provided.

Host ref number: 432353972921

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Help with gardening and hydroponics at our forest property in Olympia, Washington, USA
Join us and help out with micro-farming and pet care in Leverett, MA, USA