Come and help us in beautiful Southern Tasmania!

Country

Australia

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    221

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Attention Couples or Singles? We need you.
    Our home is beautiful and on 5 acres with 4 horses, a small dog and a couple of chickens - BUT - we have just purchased 67 acres as well (with another beautiful house and magic views) only 5 minutes away from this one. We are close to Hobart (only 20 minutes by car) and transport is available.

    We need to get our smaller acreage tidied up and looking spick and span around the grounds as we need to put this house up for sale, so we can move to our other property. Lots to do there too. Our current home is big and lovely. You'd have your own great Queen size room, and we are friendly and global frequent travellers ourselves! Although we are in our 60's ourselves, we are very young at heart - and we have two amazing children (don't live here but nearby with partners) who are in their late 20's / 30's.

    At the bottom of our road, is a fantastic country pub (5 minutes walk) and it has live bands every Sunday afternoon (it's fabulous).

    Help to be done is gardening, bit of painting, clearing up our horse paddocks (sticks and horse mess etc), tidying our sheds up, if a couple maybe some help could be given to me (Annie) in packing up stuff inside the house to move over to our shed on our other property. You can cook, we can cook, we can all cook - choice is your own. We provide all you'll need though.

    Come and help us. We also have a friend coming to stay with us from Cairns and he has workawayers at his property - so its a great introduction if you then wish to travel up there!

    We need help within the next couple of weeks - for about a month or more. If you can only stay a few weeks, that's fine too.

    Get in touch with us.
    Annie and Grant

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are well-travelled, in fact we run a company working with international students and as such we travel worldwide to many countries often. We've just returned from USA, but also travel through Europe and Asia. We are super friendly, welcoming, and we would love to learn about YOU, and your culture and share our travels and knowledge and Australian way of life with you.

  • Help

    Help

    Help us get our house ready for sale ... and help us with our new house we have already purchased!
    Couples welcome

    We live on a fabulous 5 acres, only 20 minutes outside of Hobart. Transport is available. Our home is comfortable, stunning (like a ski chalet inside) and we have a spare private bedroom. At the bottom of our road there is a fabulous country pub that has live bands every Sunday afternoon - and is a great place to go for a break (walking distance).

    We are frequent world travellers ourselves and so welcome all. Our home is needing to be put up for sale (because we have purchased another beautiful 67 acres and home - again close to Hobart - with magnificent views), and we need to get this house ready to sell.

    What we need help with at this house:
    - garden tidy up - weeding, mulching, raking etc
    - horse yard tidy up
    - general tidy and maintenance jobs (clearing sheds, fixing / tidying things up)
    - inside sorting, boxing, packing stuff, cleaning and moving things
    Me (the woman of the house) could use some help with my horses and sometimes cooking a meal would be great :)

    At our new house:
    - cleaning up any wire around pasture paddocks (for safety of horses before they move there)
    - fencing assistance
    - gardening assistance
    - general assistance with husband (excavations / drains / carport erection etc)

    Our family:
    My husband and I, plus we have a small cute dog 'Daisy'; 4 horses (Kazz, Buddy, Scout and Solli) and a couple of chickens!

    Our friend:
    A friend is also living with us (from Cairns) for a while to help us too - he is great and our willing workaway helpers will be helping him on our property as well.

    SKILLS THAT WOULD BE USEFUL:
    Important: You will need to feel comfortable around animals (small dog, horses, chickens);
    A bonus if you have horse skills

    We need self-starters:
    Gardeners, handyman (or at least willing to give things a go and learn on the job), building or building labourer assistant, physical help on a property, maybe some fencing or helping with fencing.
    Physically fit

    If you are a couple (Great)!
    Perhaps one of you would like to cook occasionally - and I need help inside the house for our move!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a LITTLE German (Austrian dialect)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room / shared bathroom (upstairs in our home)
    Our home is beautiful (all meals, accommodation provided)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very close to Hobart - there is lots to see and do, and transport is available. We also have the lovely country pub, with live bands each week at the bottom of our road.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    A fair time worked out between us all. no more than 25 hours a week

Grant and I on a hike to the Snug Falls
Our country pub at the bottom of our road 1/2 km walk
Our other property - 67 acres with 3 bedroom house and shed, but also ready to build up the top of this hill (yay)
We have horses
Our little, sweet dog 'Daisy'. She is only 11 months old.
We welcome you to our home.
We have a beautiful, comfortable home we would like to share with you.
Our home set on five beautiful acres (but we also have another beautiful home on 67 acres now)... come and enjoy it all with us!
Looking out our front window, when the gardens were lovely, can you help us make them lovely again, they just need a tidy up, and mulched again.


Host ref number: 428341426584

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more