Need some extra hands around our home and a big sister to our girls, living on Como Lake, Italy in a quiet area

Country

Italy

Favourited 177 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4, living on Como Lake in a quiet area. Sandro is professor of chemistry at University and I, Mara, work in a museum and botanic garden as educator. Our two daughters, Margherita and Alice are two lovely girls attending local schools; they are 17 and 13. We run a very full life with our jobs and other engagements but like enjoying the beauty of the place we live. Seven years ago we decided to come to live in the coutryside escaping from the chaotic town on Milan. And here we realized how important it is to live in a quiet area and to be surrounded by the mountains and the lake, despite the amount of things to do in our busy lives.
    We like to have people around us and our house is often full of kids and other girls; we often have friends for lunch or dinner on weekends.
    My parents and my sister's family, who also have a holiday home nearby, come to visit us in the weekend and we spend a lot of time together, walking in the countryside.
    We have had many other experiences with aupair girls, and they were all positive: we now have very good friends from other countries!
    Me, Sandro and Margherita speak fluent English (we can make ourselves understood!) and Alice is doing very well at school and is now also used to speak English at home.
    We have a Cat, Millo, who likes coming inside at night and for his meals, although he loves staying in the garden during the day; but if you are allergic...maybe his presence could be a problem for you!
    We ideally look for long stays, at least 2 months.
    We'd love to host people who are happy to take part to the family life and who enjoy the pleasure of being together in a relaxed atmoshpere.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love contaminations with other cultures, so far now we hosted 13 girls and it's been a great experience for all of us besides being an opportunity for making friends with people from all over the world!!

  • Help

    Help

    Alice and Marghe are very independent, they just need a little guidance. As our jobs are very demanding we are looking for a girl who can help us in giving advice to the girls and managing the house. We feel that 5 hours per day would be even more than needed: the girls are at home only in the afternoon, and Alice has school also in the afternoon for three days a week.
    They need to be given guidance on their little duties (doing their school homework, tiding up their rooms, laying down the table, doing a little cleaning - expecially Marghe who is now a big girl!), therefore we'd expect you to be at home when they are in and to make them feel your presence. They are not little, therefore they do not need a baby sitter, but we need a help with preparing lunch, doing some shopping and with managing house duties.
    Sometimes the girls need to be taken to their sport, music and theatre lessons after school: therefore we might ask you to drive my car to take them to the villages nearby where Margherita does rowing and Alice has drama sessions or sports.
    The childcare work we need could also be very little, therefore we’d ask you to help us with managing the house (as also Marghe and Alice do!): this means that maybe one day the washing or the ironing needs to be done and another day the kitchen needs cleaning. We are very flexible about this (we normally share the house work and if nobody can do it...the house will wait for someone to do it!) and we'd ask you to be a little flexible too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have just moved to a new house; it's a two storey detached house with garden where you will have your little bedroom with two big windows facing the mountains.
    We love cooking and eating, therefore you will be happy to try italian food, but we'd also be very happy to try other nationalities'recipies!
    We have wifi access and it is free. We also have international channels on the tv.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not smoke and therefore'd prefer to host a person who does not smoke.
    For what concerns the area we live: it's a touristic area in the warm season, from november to march it is very quiet because many hotels are closed. But still we enjoy beautiful and warm days (the lake makes the climate milder than in the lowland around Milan). We are close to Switzerland (less than 1 h drive) and to the mountains for ski resorts and hiking.
    Being here is like being always on holiday, but if you need to have urban-like amusement facilities such as theatres or cinemas...well, this could not be the place for you. But remember that the nearest town, Como, is less than 1 hour drive.There are pubs and cafes, in beautiful settings, but you will not find many discotheques. If you like hiking the mountains are behind the house, if you like swimming the lake is 10 mins from the doorstep.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max to 5, depending on the day

alice and marghe
me and sandro
me and marghe on top of Monte Rosa
the garden
panorama from the nearby village



Host ref number: 426697517424