Experience real nomad berber life in the Sahara desert in Tagounite, Morocco

Country

Morocco

updated   Last minute

Favourited 276 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    52  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are hassan and aya. I (hassan) am a nomad and grew up in a nomad family in the desert.
    We live in the desert 12 km from tagounite in a nomad house in a little nomad village in a gorgeous oasis. We are happy to receive people to help us build this house. I will teach you the nomad life style and house building, making bricks. Currently we are making bedrooms, a new kitchen and renovating a part of the terrace. We would love to learn about permaculture so we can fight the drought here. We have a livingroom and bedrooms and since a few weeks a new bathroom. We started to grow our own vegetables. We have 3 meals a day. The food we make here is varied and a lot.
    It's very calm here and remote and the village is mostly empty. Shower is with bucket warm water.
    Soon I will make our own hamam.
    We work max 3 hours a day.
    I am happy to take you on desert tour with me and show you the desert I grew up in.
    A few times a week I go to tagounite, you can join me for shopping. There's a market twice a week.
    There's also a nice hammam in tagounite.
    We have internet.
    We have a cat, 2 dogs, rabbits, chickens and goats, we make our own milk and cheese.
    I will take you to visit my family and you will meet my friends and experience real berber life.

    During your day's off we take you to see the mountains, go swimming, take you to a wedding or go sand snowboarding.

    Bring a mosquito spray and washing powder to wash your clothes. Work clothes and shoes which can get muddy. Warm jacket, pyjama for the months nov, dec, jan, feb.

    I speak french, berber and arabic and am learning English. Aya speaks fluent English.

    How to get here;

    You can fly to Marrakech, Ouarzazate or
    Casablanca. You can fly from Casablanca to Zagora.
    You can take a buss from marrakech to tagounite with ctm busscompany for 17 euro. Departure at 11.00 and arrival in tagounite at 20.30.
    Or with buss company supratours. Departure at 15.00 and arrival at 23.00 in zagora.
    From zagora you can take a taxi. But not after 9 pm. It's hard to get a taxi at that hour. You can take a shared taxi from zagora to tagounite for 25 dirham. From zagora to tagounite is 1 hour.
    We pick you up from tagounite.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you how to build nomad houses, making bricks, rooms and how to make traditional Berber food.

    I will take you to visit my family. You will participate with my berber life.

  • Help

    Help

    Building the house, making bricks, rooms, renovate terrace. House keeping. Gardening. Helping with the animals. We would love to learn about permaculture so we can fight the drought here.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, french. Berber. Arabic.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It's a nomad house. We have a livingroom and bedrooms. You will share the bedroom with other workawayers. There is electricity in every room. The rooms have blankets, pillows, matrasses. When it's very hot here you can also sleep on the terrace outside where it's cooler. Since a few weeks we have a new bathroom. Showering is with warm water and bucket. Big garden. We started to grow our own food. Soon we build our own hamam.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am happy to take you on desert tour with me. There is a hamam in tagounite. The environment here is beautifully. Very calm. Beautifully for walking. The village is mostly empty.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)




























Host ref number: 426389467992