Living in full nature, enjoy the silence and explore the forests in the natural parc of Périgord Limousin, France

Country

France

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an elder couple living in France since 2000. We stayed 13 years in Africa, Mali. My husband is German, myself, Inge, I am French-German.
    It is now 2 years, we bought a small farm in the Parc Naturel Regional Perigord-Limousin. Last year we moved. The property is situated at the border of a small hamlet, the little road ends and forests start. We are no farmers. My husband is musicien and architect, I am a retired technical consultant in Education. Nevertheless we try to transform a garden from jungle to a place where bio vegetables grow, we have 3 chickens (to eat their eggs) and about 15 sheep (to use their wool). Two big dogs Maxie and Snow (Pyrenees mountain dogs) need a walk of half an hour every morning. You have to be strong, sometimes, to hold them. The advantage of walking with the dogs is, that you go through wonderful local countryside and tranquil forest.

    We renovate our little new home. There is need to help. My husband works together with artisans but he does a lot on his own. Then he needs a hand to help or to assist, an unlearned worker. As I am occupied with the household, I am not so much available.

    What else? Our helpers are family members. We eat and live together. We do not have enough rooms for friends/guests inside the house. So we offer as well a 2-beth caravan and/or a big Mercedes long-wheelbase transit with a double mattress for 2 persons. We also have tents available. Internet and WiFi access is available.

    There is a bike to explore the environment. Two lakes (about 20 car-minutes) invite for swimming, the forests to walk. Indeed, it is very calm and the place is nearly at 'the end of the world'.
    It is 3km from the farm to the local village with a shop, or 10km to the nearest town of Nontron. The closest train station is at Thiviers, about 20km away. Coaches such as Eurolines, Flixbus and Oui bus are available in Périgueux, Limoges or Angouleme.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband and me have experiences in intercultural communication. We lived a long time in Africa, we bisited other continents and countries, I used to work abroad as I was a tecnical adviser employed by the German cooperation of development. My husband is a very good musicien, I am just singing. We know very well German and French civilisation.
    Our house is situated in the regional natural parc of Perigord-Limousin. We are in full nature. There are a lot of different varieties of trees, plants, animals, birds and mushrooms.

  • Help

    Help

    Walk sometimes with our two big Pyrenees mountain dogs
    Help to clean the garden.
    Help my husband, as unlearned worker, with the renovation of our house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, French, English, Spanish (basics)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The rooms for friends/guests inside the house are limited. But we offer as well a 2-beth caravan and/or a big Mercedes long-wheelbase transit with a double mattress for 2 persons.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

The garden
On the left hand our little farm
Sheep seaking shadow
Our two dogs, Snow and Maxie

Host ref number: 425322361839