Come and join us in idyllic East Devon, United Kingdom and learn about organic gardening and spend time doing fun activities with our children

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 125 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/04/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in a beautiful part of East Devon. I am a refugee barrister and I teach gardening at our local primary school where our kids (4 and 6) attend. My husband is a writer and classics teacher. We aim to live sustainably, grow our own fruit and vegetables and to contribute as much as possible to our local community. We also run a local literary festival.

    We live in a former house theatre and part of a large Georgian estate. We have 2.5 acres and more communal land. We are close to woodlands, sea and rolling fields.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have an energetic and engaging community immediately around us. We love sharing ideas and experience and meeting people from all over. Our house is a focal point for visitors from all walks of life. We are also seeking to improve our landscape and to share experiences of sustainable living. We will provide £75 weekly.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to help with after school care for our children during the week 3:30-6:30 pm. We would like someone who is creative and likes doing activities with children of all types and is a native French speaker. No previous child care experienced required: just enthusiasm and a willingness to help. We have a preference for workawayers who are over 25 years old but will consider all good people!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private double room and own bathroom in our house which forms a separate house amongst a large Georgian estate house. We have a four bed house with open plan downstairs kitchen/living room. We have a large garden and communal tennis courts.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are wonderful local places to visit including Lyme Regis, Exeter and Dartmoor; there are beautiful walks from our house including to the sea (a 2 hr walk), excellent coastal and inland walks, gardens to visit and all the amenities of local towns such as Exeter, Honiton, Bridport and Axminster. There is public transport from the end the drive which runs between our local beach town Seaton and large towns: Honiton and Taunton. We are a short drive from our nearest train station at Axminster which is on the Exeter-London Waterloo line.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 425318195341