wildlife rescue centre in Northumberland where we rescue, treat, feed, house and release wildlife. UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Myself (Tony) and my wife Ute run a wildlife rescue centre in Northumberland where we rescue, treat, feed, house and release wildlife.
    We also look after a 140 acre farm with various live stock.
    We need helpers to look after the wildlife( feeding, cages cleaning, wound treatment if applicable etc.) that we receive and the general work ( mucking out, cleaning up everywhere etc etc ) on the farm.
    I am 60 and an ex soldier with 20 years service my German wife Ute is 51 and very talented nail designer and does a lot of crafting as independent stampin up! demonstrator.
    During the winter month , this area usually has loads of snow, so it can be physically demanding to dig through 3 m of snowdrifts etc.
    We do eat meat and we cannot cater vegan or vegetarian style so please do not ask for a stay with us if you have such specific dietary needs. No offence taken here please but we cannot change our lifestyle to accommodate such needs.

    We would also prefer single men during the winter period instead of women due to the nature of the work that arises.
    This place gets pretty cold, windy, wet and at times snowed in so physical work needed and not suitable for all women in general.

    We would prefer to take in couples ( male & female) or single male travellers of at least 25 years of age if possible.
    However, this does not rule out female single travellers completely, it would be an individual decision really.

    Languages spoken here are mainly English ( UK) and German, but Ute speaks Dutch, French and Italian reasonably well, too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Help to look after wildlife farm work and maybe my wife will teach them crafting.they will learn how to look after various different types of wildlife.how to repair dry stone walls and general maintenance of farm equipment and looking after farm animals

  • Help

    Help

    Help looking after the rescued wildlife and farm work and maintenance helping with livestock ( feeding, checking for injuries etc ),repairing dry stone walls ( when needed ) and looking after the farm vehicles, general household work like cleaning, dish washing etc. We also need people who can handle chainsaws for fire wood cutting etc. Tractor and other farm vehicles need to be driven at times, too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bed room kingsize with en suite bathroom

    They will get breakfast, lunch and an evening meal

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in, an area of outstanding beauty with lots of walks and places to visit in the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 424835681137