Farm life in in West Gippsland, country Victoria, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 4 times
  • Last activity: 21/12/2022

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I’m a retired TEFL teacher living in the Strzlecki ranges in West Gippsland. I have approx 25 acres of farming land and several projects on the go including restoring the original timber farmhouse on the property to be used as an art studio and sleep out. My property is surrounded by native wildlife (especially birds) and has beautiful views to the mountains. My sons live in nearby towns and often drop in for a meal with my grandchildren. I enjoy gardening, growing my own veggies and herbs and love to cook. I have only recently moved to this property and there are lots of things to do that I need help with. I’m about to have a total knee replacement (Dec 5th, 2022) and will be off my feet for a few weeks. All help appreciated!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’m a qualified (retired) English TESOL/TEFL teacher and I’m happy to help with English language. We are situated in the countryside and can offer day trips and sightseeing. I love to cook (and eat) so we could share cooking and recipes over a glass of wine. This is a working beef cattle farm and a great opportunity to live with the locals and help out. We are close (1.5hours by train) to Melbourne and commuting is easy. We can take you to and from the train station and also into town when we are going in.

  • Help

    Help

    Ideally I’d like some help to get the old house renovated. It’s going to be a long-standing project and there’s no real hurry. I travel a lot so house sitting is also an option. Lawn mowing and general yard maintenance would be appreciated. If you can sand, paint, chop wood, pull weeds and enjoy spending time outdoors then this might be for you. If you have restoration experience I have the perfect project - the original timber farmhouse approximately 80 years old and in a terrible state but I think worth saving.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I’m a retired TEFL teacher and love to explore languages. I’m trying to learn Italian but I’m not very good.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private bedroom with large (Queen size) bed and use of the second family bathroom, shared if others are here but to yourself if it’s just me at home. I’m happy to cook every day but equally happy for you to cook (I will buy the groceries). We have a shared TV /lounge room. Essentially, you will live with us. (Me and my part-time partner)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of mountain experiences nearby, we are 150 km east of Melbourne by train and 5 kilometres from the train station. We can take you in to town and pick you up from shopping, train etc. We are easygoing and live a quiet life, enjoying our farm and retirement. We are non smokers (you can smoke outside) and we enjoy a beer or wine socially. It’s great to meet people from all over the world and connect and make friendships.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good wifi available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Own toilet and shower would need to be provided. I don’t have a separate toilet facility for camping.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Im flexible with these hours if you would like to go travelling.

Host ref number: 422883314537

Photos

Feedback

Female to help keeping an elderly lady company and light daily duties in Anglesea, VIC, Australia
Experience the beautiful Blue Mountains, Blackheath, NSW, Australia