Off-grid living and help with our projects in Wynyard, Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello. We are Hannah, Alan, & baby Jarrah.

    We would love to have some extra energy about over these uncertain times as we enter into shorter, cooler days. It’s pretty magic out here in the sticks, living off-grid in a handmade home, where we dream the big dreams. In our isolation we are finishing off an earthen extension, getting the garlic in, preparing winter wood stores, nurturing immune systems, & HOPEFULLY getting chickens!

    Each week is themed around a project, & the weather determines weather we dig, chop, plant, build, design, tidy, cook, bottle & brew
    Especially handy/ special skills, of interest to you or us would be - earthen building, vegetable oil car workshop, carpentry, concreting, cooking, paving, gardening/landscaping, track making.

    We love good wholesome food, & eat a healthy veg diet, carnivores welcome to cook outside on the bbq.

    Situated on a huge bush block, 10 minute drive from Wynyard town, get in touch if this sounds like you..

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to get to the bottom of things here. It's a bit of a theme, maybe making beer from barley, making bricks from the mud at the backdoor, milling timber from the forest & so on and so forth. We're social self sufficiency nerds but stop short of dogma (we hope!). We love to learn & share knowledge & skills through practise. Our skills range through from scratch food prep, amateur mechanics, bush & earthen building, vegetable gardening. We'd love to know more about all these things too!

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for help ;
    - tidying & arranging the yard
    - vegetable gardening, permaculture informed
    - earthen building (mud brick making!)
    - storing firewood for Winter
    - carpentry
    - food preparation
    - mechanics
    - goat care

    We will mix up the big jobs with the small jobs depending on your areas of interest & skill

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We're in a mudbrick house and accompanying it is a little mud brick housel for you. It is standalone with a clear roof for star gazing and moon baking. Over time we will add amenities to the housel, but for now everything is at the main house close by. Here we will share the kitchen. Food is provided, but dinner only catered with breakfast & lunch flexible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During this Covid period, we have 90 acres of magical forest with some walking tracks. We're building more each week and will definitely be part of our weekly jobs. We also have push bikes which can be borrowed for exercising if you're keen to get out for a bit & a lovely dog which can be walked. Soooo much more to do when Covid passes but for now we're able to offer space and bikes!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 422244282253