Help us with a few projects and enjoy the frontier experience at our ranch near Raton, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a male couple that lives on a ranch with our dog. The ranch is on the high prairie in the middle of the Clayton-Raton Volcanic Field. This is a dormant area. The volcanoes are numerous and beautiful. It is 25 miles from Raton, New Mexico. We are far away from noise and light pollution, in a very peaceful setting. Although it is remote we do have excellent internet. It is a 640 acre ranch and we lease the pastures for cattle grazing. We have free-range chickens. Being a working ranch there are always projects and maintenance.

    We previously lived in a university town and rented rooms to international students. We enjoy learning about other cultures and sharing our own. I am from a Hungarian family that moved to the US after WWII and my husband's family homestead this ranch over 100 years ago.

    It is like living in a park and we love to share the experience with others. It is a safe place to center, contemplate and create art.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Guests from big cities are shocked by the big sky and open spaces and absence of traffic. Going to town is inconvenient, so we make do with what we have. We love to learn about others and their cultures while we sit and watch the mountains, distant storms, sunrises/sunsets, or stary skies. This is a unique way of life in quiet rural setting and I am happy to share some of my Hungarian cooking too.

  • Help

    Help

    We have many projects. We want to talk with you to see which fits your interest and ability we do have some priority projects that we would like your help with. Also have some funds for projects that require special skills. We think there is something for any level of skill and will work with you to match interests and experience. We also like to work with you on the schedule. We can discuss if you have a preference for a few hours a day or working full days and having more free time. We do like to structure the hours to work for all of us.

    Projects include:

    Building:

    Stairs for out building
    Room addition
    Log holder
    Barn projects


    House:

    Pellet Stove installation
    Painting and staining
    Staining
    Furniture repair

    Yard/Garden:

    Cutting and splitting wood for wood stove
    Mulching smaller branches-chipper shredder
    Weeding flower beds, Water Garden, Back garden

    Our expectation is respect and communication for all of us. While we need to get these projects done, we also look forward to meeting and getting to know you and make this a positive exchange of cultures, experiences and ideas.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a main house with extra upstairs bedrooms and we have a large room with a futon there is space for your privacy. The house is an old ranch house which we have been fixing up so that it remains quaint but comfortable. The unpredictable weather and wildlife can be viewed from a modern patio type addition with 17 windows.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are fully vaccinated and encourage you to be.

    We can provide transportation to and from the train and bus station in Raton, NM. We are happy to take you to town when we go. If you have your own transportation there are several state parks nearby and Capulin Mountain National Monument.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have outstanding internet, despite being in a rural area. It is fiber optic cable. We have a booster for the second building.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of room to park most any kind of vehicle. Vanlifers welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 to 25 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 418983382222