Help with some projects in Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 100 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Restoring an old stone farmhouse in rural Somerset has been a long project. Most of the work is finished now and I would be very glad to have some help with the last projects.
    The house is in beautiful countryside with glorious views and easy access to public transport and a huge range of places to visit.
    Always interested in other people, cultures and lifestyles, I really enjoy hosting visitors and sharing the experience of English life and traditions and learning about other cultures and traditions.
    When I'm not pretending to be a builder I'm a freelance editor and writer and also a traditional upholsterer and will be happy to teach upholstery skills.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A good insight into rural English life, assistance with exploring the many interesting places to visit and the opportunity to learn or practice a number of useful skills.

  • Help

    Help

    Projects include: finishing painting a wooden workshop; creating a raised flower bed and some garden steps; painting furniture; fixing electric poultry fencing and various small tasks. Help with any of these would be great. There is also helping with the animals – ducks, hens, 2 big dogs, 3 cats and alpaca's.

    Some things will be quite physical work but not difficult. It will need some enthusiasm, a bit of muscle, care and attention to detail and a willing attitude but it will be fun.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a double room with a private shower-room. It is quite simple but warm and comfortable and has great views out over the countryside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a pub in the village and a frequent bus route that connects with wider transport links. Bath, Bristol, Wells, Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Stonehenge, the coast etc, are all within easy reach and there is also a daily bus service to London (Hammersmith. I am always happy to provide a lift into the nearby town and to provide some local expeditions. There are lots of places to visit and exploring these has been a lot of fun for me too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 418285278164