Help a small stable in the mountains in Gratangen, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 952 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2674

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Now we start to do repairwork on the farm. We are gonna take paint off the walls on one house and repaint it. We are gonna put up a garage. We have some carpenter that needs to be done. So someone with skills in this aerea would be super. There is also a lot of cleaning up outside after a long winter. :)
    BUT NOTICE: you have to like to do hard work. So if you are a person who likes to do stuff instead of just sitting, and are able to keep it going by your self: come here. This is a perfect place for active people. :)
    I have to adress the fact that when you travel around you have to be tidy and clean up after yourself (grown ups do that). :)

    Will appreciate if someone can stay longer then 2 months at the time.

    We can only take in people with excellent horseskills (or are good with the work mentioned earlier) that can take good care of the horses and dogs AND/OR who have good handy skills.

    What I wrote before:
    We are a small stable in the mountains of Northern Norway.

    I get so many applications but most haven't got any horseskills or handymanskills. I am so sorry to inform that I have nothing for you to do here if you don't have those skills. And I will only take in people who can stay at least 2 month. Because I need stability and it takes 2-3 weeks to teach you everything.

    Things to do now: cleaning stable, taking care of horses, feeding them, cleaning the houses, handy work, taking care of my dogs, painting. Typical farm-always something to do. Training the horses is not included in the work but I like you to ride them if you have the skills.

    We have about 7 horses, 4 samojeddogs, 3volpino italiano, 2 cats. And we live in an amazing aerea.

    Horsenbreeds: 1 old swedish warmblood ridinghorse (age 24), 2 PRE (7 and 10 y old), 12 y old friesen gelding that are well educated, a 9 y old barockpinto and ond 12 y.old coldblood trotters that are nice to ride in the mountains with.

    Northern light we have a lot of untill it is light night and day (mai-august).

    Summertime: midnightsun. We live close to Lofoten, Lappland, Tromsø etc.

    😊 We like to have someone who is not afraid to walk with horses beeing 170 cm big on their shoulders 😉 So you need to have experience with horses to stay here.

    The work awayers use the house that I rent out to tourists. Therefore we can only take in people to know how to keep the house clean and tidy. You need to be including and polite. And able to make the other tourists/ people feel welcome at our farm. You need to show responisbility. I don't wanna have to come over and wake you up or force you to work. Or have to make you clean up your mess. When the tourists are staying in the farmhouse, the work awayers stay in our small cabins (not so often).

    You need to like hard work that is normal at a farm. Beeing on a farm does not mean that you just cuddle with animals. It is hard work. And it can be a harsh envirement in the Arctic. You need to find your inner viking. We also like to have a little privacy (for the family) so you have to like to be by your self. We try to have 2 work awayers so you can have each others company also. We are not able to be like a hotellhost for anyone. So you need to take care for your self. Exept for some dinners together. Most norwegians are a little quiet and private. And after covid we got used to beeing less sosial. So you know a little about how people up here are. If you like the peace and quietness: you will be able to stay in a place where it is peaceful/not much stress.

    Here is also fantastic nature. It is a little wild up here in the winter, so you should be a little sporty.

    Ps: If you have yes for that you can come here I would be happy if you answer the e-mails. At least let us know if you are not coming so others can get your place here. :)

    Best regards from Sissel

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see one of the best parts of Norway, see culture, local scenery, get to be with animals. You will love the people and the place and have a memory for life :) Close to Lofoten, Tromsø, Narvik

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to have volunteers that like animals, have horseskills and/or people and that have basic carpenterskills. We need someone from today and all year around. ☺️If you know how to drive a tractor and fix cars that would be amazing. We don't need a professional carpenter but you need to be a handyman or handywoman ;) . If you love horses and know how to ride you will of course ride :) you need to be skilled to be allowed to ride horses by your self.

    There will be 1-2 work awayers staying in the house which you have to share with other travelling tourists. So you really need to be tidy! :)

    We are close to Tromsø (3 hours), Narvik (1 hour), lofoten (3-4 hours), Senja (2 h) and more. Are you a skii enthusiast, then you will be in heaven here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an extra house for you. There are other workawwayers living there as well. We rent it out to tourists via an online rental website. When the tourists rent the house we have 3 huts for the workawayers :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go hiking, skiing, travelling around etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The van can be parked at the farm.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 417798925323