Looking for some help converting our French manor house and grounds into a holistic retreat.

Country

France

Favourited 130 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner and I are sympathetically restoring a Gascon Manor House and its extensive gardens and land into an holistic retreat offering courses, workshops and complementary therapies. I am retired military and my partner has been in the complementary medicine/therapies sector for 25 years. We enjoy meeting people and will be working alongside you. We have been successfully hosting for years now and everyone has enjoyed their time with us. We are looking forward to completing our project in the near future and invite you to join us in this adventure. We will provide good class accomodation , food and drinks in return for your labour - 5 days a week with 5 hrs a day . We have always found a happy medium with our Volunteers in regards to work and play. Contact us for a chat and update on availability .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be spending time in a lush, farming landscape steeped in historical resonances. The ancient barn on our estate was reconstructed from stone salvaged from a former monastery which stood on an adjacent hill. The grounds include a wooded area sloping gently into the neighboring valley, to a water spring that is reputed to have healing properties. It is such restorative qualities that are helping to inspire our plans. Musketeer D,Artagnan is perhaps the region's most famous son and his statue stands proudly behind the beautiful sandstone cathedral in nearby Auch. Off-duty, you can expect to witness a typically slow-paced, rural French lifestyle while learning of the area's folklore, and visiting the nearby village of Marciac with its cafe and bars and weekly market.

  • Help

    Help

    We need to turn a small part of our woodland into an ecologically-viable site for camping retreats. We've been informed that there is a 'source' (spring) in a clearing in that woodland that is reputed to carry healing properties; we want to rediscover it if we can. There is general house and garden maintenance in order to nurture the property back into a viable concern. Tasks include painting and decorating and building work, planting trees, clearing sections of land and rejuvenating an old moat/pond with water from the well. We are particularly interested in people with a strong work ethic who are open to 'mucking in' and lending a hand wherever it may be needed. A travelling tradesman (decorator, plumber, carpenter, electrician, etc) would be particularly welcome but regardless of your level of experience or expertise a positive, energetic contribution will still be much appreciated. A couple would be suitable also as we often need help with general housekeeping duties like cooking, cleaning, ironing. Some French would be a bonus in terms of helping with administrative tasks. We speak English and are attempting to learn French.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large Manor House and Gites in spacious grounds situated on a magnificent Ridge with far reaching views of the rolling hills of Gascony and the spectacular Pyrenees. You will have your own bedroom , bathroom and kitchen facilities on the property. The house is in the final stages of renovation .We have modern facilities with wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are vineyards, castles, ancient French hillside villages where crusaders passed through. The Catholic shrine of Lourdes in less than an hour away. The house is close to Marciac village (4ks) with a 70 acre lake and local bars and restaurants. The locality is ideal for walking and cycling. Bicycle available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 417643952741