Help us starting an educational and recreational centre in San Sebastián Río Hondo, Oaxaca, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Me (Anika), my partner Néstor and daughter Isa of 9 months have been living in San Sebastián Río Hondo, Oaxaca Mexico for some years now (Isa only 9 months)
    building relationships and working on different types of projects, both being educators of some sort or another, Néstor more focused on body health, doing yoga, massages and healings of different types and me more focused on small scale agriculture and my chickens 💛. At the moment we have a ranch 20 minutes walking into the forest from our house where we are starting an educational and recreational centre. This is where you would camp and where the main help is needed. Our house on the weekends becomes a restaurant and bakery where people can come enjoy some coffee, yummy food and a good chat, it’s small and it’s just me and my partner tending the restaurant. Here you are welcome to be as well at any time to use our amenities, and when open you are welcome to eat there with us for free

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to know the local culture of slow village life as well as learn local building techniques that are special to this bioregion.
    You will also be able to connect with travelers and locals that come in and out of our restaurant

  • Help

    Help

    The first project we are focusing on is to finish the house we have on our ranch.
    We need to do a second layer of walls made with a local technique using clay and pine needles.
    Also the building of a stove for warmth and cooking.

    We have a restaurant/bakery at our house Friday Saturday and Sunday’s where we need help to so if you like to learn we make our own jams, we make bread from sourdough, our own salsas from our chilli tree and have our chickens that give us eggs (when it’s not too cold, or too rainy, or they are mad I didn’t give them sourdough dough) who also need our love and tender care everyday.

    And finally we also need someone helping us making online posters for our market, for our workshops, and help with internety stuff

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment what we offer is to camp and and ask you to contribute with the food (help is Maximum 15 hours a week). We have two houses at the ranch where you can set up your tent and you will need warm sleeping bag as it can get down to -2 occasionally at night, or you can also set it up anywhere on the ranch. Our ranch is 20 minutes walking from the village and our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    San Sebastián is a very quiet town, the forest is the main attraction here. There’s San José is the closest town where there’s a bit more happening, restaurants, bars, hotels. There’s cascades near by, the coast is 4 hours away, Oaxaca city is 3 hours away.
    There’s a small international community of people in San Sebastián Río Hondo who meet from time from time to do celebrations, temazcales, singing circles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have three dogs, and 15 chickens. So any pet that can live with that is welcome!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 15 hours a week


Host ref number: 416662538981