Help on a horse riding hobby farm, Adelaide, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Horse riding hobby farm, training our young horses in preparation for competition (eventing, jumping at low level) is just some of the activities on our farm. We are a hobby farm with dogs, sheep and many other small animals as well as plenty of horses. We also grow our own horse feed seasonally so do a bit of farming too. We run a very busy web design company so need help with our hobby farm.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Practise and learn with the owner horsemanship skills who is still going to clinics and learning all the time too. Running a small horse property that has is just starting up coaching students and back into competition after a break to learn/study breeding and starting young horses over the last 8 years. Have had horses for 25 years and it is very much our lifestyle. Become a part of general family life in Australia. We are only 45 minutes away from the city on a small and busy equestrian farm.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone who can ride and school young horses, but also someone who enjoys the benefits of working the horse on the ground. Also a person who is interested in taking horse out to competition just for fun on weekends with the owners. A bit of farm help and manual labour would also be great. General help running the farm with me. It would be a shared fun experience for someone who loves horses, horses and more horses. Looking for someone who can become part of the family team would be ideal. We are very flexible and working together is really important. Being able to listen is important but having some knowledge to offer would also be something we are open to.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English / Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A comfortable room of your own with double bed is provided in the main house. All meals provided and access to a vehicle if required if you have a licence. Can be driven to city also - partner works close to the city every day so you can catch a ride if you need to.
    We are a working couple with grown and moved out child. House chores will be shared equally, cooking etc. not that big a deal. Must like dogs that sleep in the house. All amenities in a comfortable, busy and happy, fun environment. Wifi etc. Very busy house with lots going on. Running track and gym also on premises. No smokers or drinking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Expected 4 hours volunteering with horses everyday plus normal chores. Shared. 2 days off with access to CBDs etc. we are pretty flexible what days off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 416273296556

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more