Help us on our eco-building projects for the construction of our strawbale house in Occitanie, Southwest of France

Country

France

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers,
    We are a little family in the south west of France (60km South of Toulouse). My name is Bertrand. With my wife Elena we have two adorable little girls Taïssia (7 y/o) and Ksenia (3 y/o). We are presently building a Nebraska style strawbale house completely self-sufficient in water, hot water, electricity and central heating plus we want to be sure we are using a maximum of eco-friendly materials. But our project goes further than just the house since we are planning the creation of an organic permacultural forest garden which means that we want to make our 1500m2 little piece of land, a luxurious edible forest. We already have tens of fruit trees and we plan to develop it more and more. Presently the garden is also under construction and any help is warmly welcome to think it and build it. The works consist in various tasks in the house and in the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The main purpose of your stay with us is exchange in culture, experiences, ecological construction, permaculture, wood work, cooking, languages (in our home we are fluent in not less than 5 foreign languages : French, English, Spanish, Russian, German).
    Lena speaks four of them!

  • Help

    Help

    The variety of tasks will make you work on :
    - a big wood structure with the planned construction of a huge pergola.
    - covering the strawbale walls with a mixed sand / clay / lime /straw coating.
    - designing the permacultural garden then build it.
    - woodworking since I am an amateur woodworker
    - installing electricity and plumbing
    - installing partition walls and ceiling finish
    - plus many others that will loom up as the construction goes.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Since December 2019 we have moved into the house. However, there is still a lot to do in the house since we're living in the upper floor, the ground floor is still to be finished. Our workawayers have their own private little trailer with water, electricity and illimited high speed internet, all free of charge. We usually share the meals that we cook, all free of charge. Shower is in the house. The trailer has its own separered dry toilet.
    The trailer is for two adults and two kids maximum.
    Sheets and blankets are provided.
    You can also install your tent in the garden where you can find good shaded areas. You can also come with your camper van or caravan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A lot of work indeed but let's talk about leisure. Our land is located in a little village called Saint Michel. Search Google map with "Augeron 31220 Saint Michel" to get an idea of our site in the middle of the forest. We are sarrounded by forests and fields. In the landscape you can see horses from the horse farm near by and sheeps with their little nice bells ringing in the sunny morning. 100% fresh air guaranteed! The area offers many hiking paths. Bike riders will be served with low traffic roads. The closest ski resort is less than one hour ride so it is possible to get to the ski resort then get back home in the same day. The Pyrenees also offer wonderful hiking paths.
    Our region is the place of many historical and touristic sites including the city of Toulouse with its meseums, the historic center, the Cité de l'Espace, the airplane museum, then outside Toulouse you can find the Gallic village, Saint Lizier, Saint Bertrand de Comminges and a little bit farther you can visit Albi and Cordes sur Ciel, the medevial city of Carcassonne and so many more interesting places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you're a digital nomad and want to work online in your spare time it's not a problem at all. We will find the right and calm place for it. Our Internet is fast enough to have videoconferencing for example.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 413365844443