Help with projects and gardening in Arkansas, USA



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Jeff and Nancy have been living in this house since 1996 and have been trying to fix it up and finish it ever since. Beginning as a small log cabin, it now consists of 2700 sf, much is finished, but much still needs to be completed, mostly the little annoying jobs, like painting, putting on baseboards, refinishing some floors, organizing the garage and making it more useful, etc.

    Our Gardening Projects include 6 raised beds outside along with many grow bags, and a couple other garden areas where we are experimenting with Organic square-foot gardening, learning as we go. We appreciate any help with them from others who know more than we do. We always need help with gardening. We now want to put in 3 hoop houses to cover the raised beds and grow bag areas in the back of the house and one new area we just prepared on the side of the house. See the pictures to see what I mean. Since we live on a small mountain, we have little soil, and a lot of table rock. The hoop houses will have to be installed over rebar which will be hammer-drilled into the rock for stabilization.

    One hoop house will be 40' x 15' x 7' high, 36' x 15' x 7 and the third one will be 20' x 15' x 7'. Jeff is in an electric wheelchair and can't do as much as he used to do due to his paralysis 8 years ago, but he can assist in many areas. I love gardening and am excited about getting the hoop houses installed and getting all the beds and bags planted with veggies for this year. Since we don't have much dirt, we have to make our own 'dirt' for the beds and bags, which consists of screeding what dirt we do have and adding amendments to it. This will require a willing spirit, muscles and endurance. We are looking for and hoping for some young strong men or women who would be willing to help us with these fun projects. We've got the foundations started and needed supplies, and want to move forward ASAP.

    We are practicing Seventh-day Adventists with a love for the Lord and serve Him in all that we do and how we relate to others. We keep the seventh day as the Bible Sabbath from sundown Friday to sundown Saturday and do not work during those hours. We also adhere to a whole foods/plant based diet and lifestyle and don't use animal products in our house. We welcome people of all faiths into our home and do not expect anyone to believe as we do, but are more than willing to share information, as we love to learn of other peoples' faiths.

    Nancy is a Certified Health Coach focusing on prevention of and reversal of the common diseases. Jeff and Nancy are both certified Raw/Vegan Chefs, in health ministry reaching out to others through teaching a plant based lifestyle and natural remedies to prevent and reverse modern day illnesses. We used to travel throughout the US putting on cooking schools, and have taught in other countries, also. Since we believe in staying as healthy as possible, we do not smoke, drink or do drugs. Because Jeff contracted MRSA in his lower back in 2014 after a total hip surgery , he is partially paralyzed and remains in a wheelchair, but he is able to do many things that he's taught himself to do while in the chair. He loves working in his woodshop, creating many items out of wood, and loves to share that love with others. He needs help with the tedious tasks around the house now as he is limited with his chair.

    We just finished renovating the front porch and decks, and painted the outside of the house. We still have several projects that need another strong person to help him with. We operated an Airbnb for the last 4 years here but stopped doing so last January.

    We have a very friendly white and yellow lab mix dog, Sparky, who stays outside and loves to walk around the mountain with me when I walk. It's a beautiful 3 mile walk with varying scenery, breathtaking in spots, and life enhancing with the fresh mountain air.

    Jeff and Nancy enjoy living here and sharing their home with others. We want to complete all the unfinished jobs in our house to make it more enjoyable. We have a lot to offer with the house - 3 acres, a 10,000 gallon Koi pond with mostly goldfish in it now, 180 degree view of beautiful Beaver Lake, an enjoyable hot tub in which to relax and refresh under the starlit sky, and a quiet, tranquil, dream getaway in a secluded area, yet close enough to nearby small cities to acquire our needs.

    On days that we won't be able to work outside, if your are tech savvy, I would like to build a website for us to advertise our place as an Airbnb.

    We both want and need to learn more Spanish as we speak enough to get ourselves in trouble; so if you speak Spanish, we will enjoy learning from you and you can learn more English from us.

    So contact us and come and share your life with ours. We've traveled through many countries and love learning from others from various countries.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are willing to teach and share what we know in the line of health, cooking, food prep, gardening, community service, and lifestyle change information to anyone who is willing to learn.
    When you come to stay with us, you are our guest until the first meal, . . . then you are a part of our family and will be treated as such. Since we love ethnic foods from around the world, we invite our guests to exchange their favorite recipes and food for us to share.

  • Help


    Paint inside some rooms
    Outside trim work
    Install lattice work under the back porch roof.
    Put up gutters
    Organize workshop and garage
    Do some landscaping, especially around the pond area and other garden areas
    Install 3 hoop houses, add amendments to soil, plant veggies and basic gardening work, plant several fruit trees, trim fruit trees

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak just a little Spanish but would love to learn more to be more proficient. I am more than willing to help someone with the English language.

  • Accommodation


    We have 2 extra bedrooms upstairs - one with a queen bed, the other with a twin.
    There is a shared private bath with a shower upstairs for our guests.
    Guests would have access to our kitchen and laundry room.
    Since we prefer a plant-based lifestyle, we ask that no meat or dairy products be used in the kitchen.
    There is a hot tub available on the front deck with access to the moon and stars at night.
    We have quiet sitting areas on a bench by the koi pond and a swing on the front porch.
    There is a 3 mile walk around the mountain that is quite enjoyable.
    There is unlimited cable internet service.
    We also request no smoking, drugs or alcohol be used while on the premises.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers who come will become part of our family and will be welcomed to come and go with us wherever we go. In your free time, there is much to do, depending on your likes. We are in an area close to many amazing State parks, hiking trails, bicycling paths an amazing American Museum of Indian Culture, and one of American art. Living on Beaver Lake opens the outdoors to swimming, skiing, boating, scuba diving and other water sports.

    Eureka Springs is 30 minutes away; Branson is 1 1/2 hrs away. Rogers and Bentonville are 30-45 minutes away. There are caves to explore within a couple of hours, as well as ziplining in nearby areas, 1/2 -2 hours away. We will be glad to transport you to nearby stores or places as time allows.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a fast WiFi here and good service, so if you need to work online in your off time, we have a good office space for you to work in.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We do have a small flat space available in the woods with electricity just south of our house for a camper or RV but no dump site. There is an Army Corps of Engineer campground just 3 miles from us where you can dump the black water for free though.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are pet friendly as long as your pet is housebroken, well behaved and will get along with our outside dog, Sparky, who loves all dogs and people. However, if your dog breaks something or has an accident and causes any damage here, you will be responsible for repairing or replacing any damage caused by your dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    approximately 25

Host ref number: 399124835889

Feedback (1)



Spanish or German Language exchange and help around the home and garden in Oakland Hills, California, USA
Join our family and help with teaching and gardening on the Big Island of Hawaii, USA