1 / 4

Join our family with a little farm and animals and enjoy good foods in Kauvatsa, Finland

  • Favourited 34 times
  • Last activity: 21 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hi, we are Janika and Risto. We have two children. Son is two and daughter few months. We live in this litle farm with chickens and cats.

    I am building a houseboat so good builders are welcome. We might also put some vegetables groving. There is also some landscaping to do. We might also be helping with neighbors etc. In autum help is definately needed the most for harvesting. At home and in forest.

    You will have a summer room at your disposal. Family or a group can stay there. We have this national park next door with a lot of birds in it. There's a river next to us if you like fishing and a swimming shore.

    We eat a lot and we eat really well, because I'm a good chef. We eat all sorts of different foods. So be prepared to eat well. If need be, it is possible to cook only meat free foods during your stay and there is always food, snacks and sweets awailable for you.

    There are bicycles for you to use freely and we have a car if you need to get somewhere. We live in the rural area 20 km from real cities. How ever there is many bigger cities in the possible range for a days visit if you want to explore them. The willage we live in has a gas station that is open daily and emergency store. A store that is open once week. Both are pretty busy if you are intetested in meeting locals. In summer there is always a lot of events in Finland.

    No plans yet. Let's see what the summer will bring. Help is always needed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are devout Christians and I do apogeletics. If you are interested about Jesus you will get the most out of us.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Help with gardening. Building and childcare.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Summer rooms. Freely available sauna in outside building. At the sauna possibilty to shower. Modern shover, kitchen etc. available in the house. We always eat there together. Snacks also provided to your room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Pitkäjärven vapaa ajan keskus


  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space for campervan

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have cats in the house. Pets are free to live with you in summer house. Notice!!! There is only ladder leading to summer house since it is the attic of garage. It is spacy though. We can fix some kind of plank for your animal to walk there if you don't own an elefant.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 397428538412

Feedback (1)



Help our family in a daily life and learn organic gardening in Tammisaari, Finland
Help out our active family and explore the Ålands islands in Mariehamn, Finland