Stay on Bastimentos Island on the Carribean side of Panama, help with maintenance and repairs

Country

Panama

Favourited 106 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/01/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    49

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place is located on the beautiful island of Bastimentos in the Bocas Del Toro region on the Carribean side of Panama, Central America. It is home to a wide range of species, hosting everything from sloths to the endangered red frogs, which are now only seen on this island. Parrots, hummingbirds and the shy night monkeys abound.

    This house is a self-sufficient eco-lodge style private holiday residence under new management by Australian artist Tiffany and is in dire need of repair. We need all kinds of tradespeople, in particular wood workers, carpenters, plumbers, electricians specialising in solar, gardeners / horticulturalists, and roofers. Solid cleaners and painters, too.

    In return for 2-5 hours of work per day depending on experience and specialty, we offer a beautiful, simple, self-sufficient Carribean style residence, complete with basic amenities and its own private jetty, for you to launch from and explore this beautiful playground. It is off-grid, running on solar power and rain water with a minimalist, back to nature ethos... with excellent wifi and mobile phone reception!

    There is excellent snorkelling right at the front of the house; beautiful jungles surrounding the house and beyond, and gorgeous beaches just a 20 minute walk from the centre of town. For more serious jobs and longer stays, tradespeople will need to provide a resume and two references, and lay people are also welcome to apply and need a personal and professional reference.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a beautiful island in the Carribean Sea, what more could you want? ;-) It's unique in that it's far south enough to be completely protected from cyclones, although we do get some really heavy tropical rainstorms.

    The village is full of locals who speak a form of pigeon English or fluent Spanish. There are also native Indians nearby. You could become as immersed as you would like, and if you have a charitable bent you will be able to network with indigenous peoples and see what else you could do for them.

    The area is well known for its beautiful beaches, warm climate, great snorkelling and diving, great surfing, vibrant nightlife on the main island (only a $3 boat ride from here), and jungle-clad islands in a tropical paradise.

  • Help

    Help

    ***Immediately we will need cleaning, painting and increased solar power installation/tweaking. There will be little basic maintenance type tasks. Feel free to contact me with your speciality to see if we could use it or not. Soon we will need a new roof. We are repairing a few places on the balcony very soon and will likely be finished that before anyone gets here. Guitar lessons will also be appreciated!***

    A few basic maintenance and repairs type jobs along with deck repair and roof gutter work are required for the main residence, while the secondary residence needs a whole new roof, the recently renovated bathroom to be finished and checked, a new deck, and a few other small things, along with general cleaning. Eventually we will also need the storage sheds to be rebuilt.

    Most of the wood needs extra protection from rot and termites. Once the main structural work is done, the place will need to be painted.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room and double bed, perhaps shared with a friend or partner. Potentially a hammock if you'd prefer! Once the second house is repaired, you will have your own house. It will be share kitchen and bathroom, living areas, hammocks and other facilities will be at your disposal, hopefully including a kayak and other sporting equipment as they are acquired. There is an assorted selection of various spare snorkelling gear right now (not currently to be relied on but good in a pinch). There is a very tiny budget for this so that will not happen straight away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very simply here. There is enough electricity at the moment to power your mobile phones and maybe a laptop daily. As we develop, this will improve. We cook on propane, we eat fresh (there is no fridge but are looking at acquiring one - hence the additional power supply required), and we relax and enjoy ourselves. You might even get to watch an artist in progress, and if you're lucky even have an art lesson or two!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 395645393989