Help us to rebuild our new home and garden in northern Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a little family settling in northern Spain. Gérald (31, France) Noémie (33, Belgium), and Oscar 2 years old.

    After a few years travelling, helping, and working, we decided to buy our own house and land. It’s been a year now. We are restoring the house and garden. And we also have land to take care of a bit further. We live in a village with 2 neighbors. The rest is abandoned or rental houses for holidays.

    A FEW WORDS ABOUT US
    We left the city, wanting to live closer to nature and its seasons. We are just starting our dream and it feels great ! But there is still a lot to do... Even if it takes a lot of energy sometimes, we are very happy to work on this project, and we feel very lucky to be able to do so !
    We have no religious beliefs, but open of course to anyone that does so. We defend the freedom for everyone to live according to its principles, only if that respects the right to others to do the same.
    We love going on walks, foraging what nature offers us, or just enjoying its beauty. We love being outside when the crazy asturian rain allows us :)

    THE PLACE WE LIVE
    As we said, we live in a little village, 1h bus from Oviedo, capital of Asturias. We are
    surrounded by the mountains, mostly naturals parcs where there is a lot of wild animals. Climbing spot, hiking and cycling trails, a lot to do during your free time ! As well, that attracts a lot of people during the summer : it becomes a very crowded place here in comparison with winter time (and a lot of dogs in free range, if you’re not confortable with them).
    The’s little places to shop or have a drink not far. A health center as well.
    Be aware that we don’t have a car ! So we do everything with bus or bicycle.

    Feel free to ask anything !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we are surrounded with mountains and its wildlife. If you want to hike, cycle or hike and discover why they call Asturias a “Paraiso Natural”, that’s a really nice place ! Not far either with public transports from the asturian capital, and others big cities of the zone if you’re interested in more cultural aspects. Prehistorical points of interest as well, even beautiful caves if you are into it.
    If you want, we are here to help you to organize any visits you want.

    We’ll be very happy to share with you our different experiences of life, passions, and happier to hear what you bring with you.

  • Help

    Help

    We are working on the house and the garden, depends on the needs, the weather and the energy !
    We leave in a little part of the house while restoring the other part.
    In the garden, there is always something to do, following the season... And we have bigger jobs that aim its structure.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a bedroom for you (twin or double bed) and we’ll share accomodations (bathroom, kitchen).

    We’ll share some meals and the common daily tasks.

    We eat a bit of everything, mostly vegetarian food. If you follow a special diet, we will adapt as we can, but we can’t afford to buy special supplements or ingredients for you.

    Living with a toddler means we don’t have a crazy partying lifestyle, but we’ll find a time schedule that fits everyone.

    If you want to camp or cycle while you’re with us, we have tent, bicycle etc.

    As well, in the village the phone coverage is very poor, a very good way to “detox” from 4G if you’re a bit addict :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

View of our village from high up

Host ref number: 395518737547