Revive my old mans place and rebuild the garden & tiny homes in Nelson & Bays, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This 30years Hippy place is now moving on to the younger generation. A process worth seeing. This spot has beautiful native bush, fruit trees, a garden, a viewing point on the top of the hill and the beach just on the other side of the road. This just made me want to stay.
    After attending university I have travelled the world by sail, train, skate, foot and plane. Now I hope to have found my peace to build up my home at my old man's hippy place. I consider myself as a happy, optimistic, friendly, calm and approachable person. With passion for stories, nature, ocean, engineering, outdoors and cooking ; )

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The great thing about this project is that one can see it's moving forward every day. Here you can learn about the downsides and greatness of the good old hippy lifestyle. You can learn about gardening, planting, maintaining fruit trees, landscaping and food preservation. You can learn about building (e.g. drytoilets, tiny homes). You can enjoy nice fresh food and the beauty of creating a wonderful place. You can enjoy fresh fruits from the trees ; )

  • Help

    Help

    Elderly care - we need someone (preferably a man) who can help out with all sorts of needs that the old hippy has. He mostly hasn't got the energy to leave his bed and needs help, like making tee, making the fire and just keeping company. There are also the district nurses coming - so you don't need to worry about washing him etc. Maybe if you like to play an instrument or listen to old hippie stories while keeping company.

    The main project is to clean up and rebuild this wonderful place.
    We will be working in the garden & bush, fixing up buildings and tools, cleaning up the place and bringing old stuff to the recycling center.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Chinese Spanish Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodations are very basic. For sleeping there are caravans available or you are welcome to set up your tent or use one of our new tents (we have mattresses if you prefer them) or you are welcome to park your van or car up here. We have a dry toilet (and a new second one soon) and a simple shower. We have one simple outdoor kitchen and a kitchen in the hut where we will prepare food. We will provide simple fresh food - breakfast, we have a warm lunch together and for dinner you are welcome to join us as well or make your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beach is just 10min walk away along a nice foot trail through the bush and along the inlet. One could walk 5km to Collingwood ; ) The Milenthrop Forest Park has many walks just on the other side of the road. There is also a very nice river a few min down the road for a nice swim.
    We are about 20min from Takaka and 5min from Collingwood and there are lots of nice places to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 394664769916