Help us with hobby farming on the Canadian Westcoast of Victoria

Country

Canada

Favourited 158 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    We are a vibrant family of four adults and four young adults aged 19-23 - two boys and two girls. We have dogs, cats, and a 100 year old house which always seems to be a natural gathering place. Our property is a seven acre, sunny slice of heaven in Metchosin BC, just 30 minutes west of Victoria. Enjoy a morning coffee on the deck overlooking the ocean and mountains. Nearby are some of the best beaches and hikes on the south island. We operate a small hobby farm and, we can always use some help from open minded, creative individuals who would like to assist in building projects, gardening, painting, weeding, or other skills that you would like to share. We welcome LGBT.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Whether you are interested in practicing english, exploring the wilderness of Vancouver Island, or developing cooking, gardening or construction skills, our house offers a relaxed and friendly atmosphere in which to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteering will vary according to what needs to be done as well as skills being offered. Projects we always need help with: gardening, pulling invasive weeds, woodwork, painting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a suite which is quiet and perfect for up to two people to share.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transit exisits but can be a challenge in this area. We are close to The Galloping Goose a walk/ bike path which takes you into town, 1.25 hrs by bike. A 1 hr drive takes you North past Sooke which gives access to The Juan de Fuca trail which has many beaches and opportunities to explore Vancouver Islands rugged coast.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 3945486284de