Share you skills and learn new ones, helping out a homeschooling family and community in the Cotswolds, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2019

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In a magical valley you will be surrounded by nature, being guests of a family of 5 (all children below 9 years old) who are living their dream.

    Beautiful grounds, with a stream and vegetable patches and fruit trees, connected to public footpaths for incredible walks.

    We love the outdoors, making fires outside, building dens, being creative with our children. Keywords: conscious, singing, spirituality, bohemian, nourishing, in touch with nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our guests stay in a lovely house in a beautiful place, a truely 'cotswold' adventure! This part of the Cotswolds is known for its heritage of herbalists and is close to stroud where the first organic cafe of the UK was opened in the 1970s, and is still open, next to many other inspiring places!

    It's an eco conscious, bohemian and very outsdoorsy bunch over here! We love local traditions, activities & celebrations. And we 'd love to share them with you!

    Whilst joining in our daily life, you will meet other inspiring people of our quite international home schooling group. (Belgian, French, Dutch, Swedish) . Also when possible you can join in/ help with activities such as: educational visits to local places of interests (other farms/museum/castle etc) , forest school we have in the woodlands, nature Walks, crafting sessions.

    Next to the intercultural exchange we can share our thoughts about living your dream, starting a great adventure or otherwise following your heart.

    More generally you can learn about :
    - outdoor life, feel the seasons as you never have before, be part of nature
    - sheep, how to raise lamb, tending to the sheep, and the entire process from fleece, dying fleece, carding, spinning into yarn , and how to be part of their herd :-)
    - food: we eat mostly vegetarian, and Leonie has worked as kitchen staff previously and as a holistic therapist previously, anything you want to know, just ask & we can cook together.
    - crafts: we have quite elaborate woodworking facilities, much crafts supplies & knowledge!

    If you are an early riser, Greg , who is an outdoor man who loves (ski) mountaineering, cycling & trail running can take you for a spin or a run!

    So here is an open invitation to submerge yourself in this lushness while being surrounded by nature & us :-)

    Feel welcome!

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to share our magical space with others, and it would be awesome if you can contribute in a way that makes you happy too.

    We love to know what drives you, what Your passions are, and See how we can nourish that whilst here. Also, if you can make things. crafts, woodworking, singing , play an instrument or share anything else you love doing, we would love to learn from you.

    We have a lovely (wild) garden with a woodland play area for the children, and initiatives to make that into an even more adventurous place are welcome!

    If you feel like building something yourself, like a clay oven or a shelter for the lambs , feel welcome!

    And there are always things to be done, daily cooking & cleaning, tending to the vegetable patch, the garden & the animals.

    We love people with quite a high level of energy, showing initiative & self starters !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, reasonable German, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workaways can stay in our house, or if you fancy camping that is also possible!

    Meals will be organized mostly shared. On the occasions workaways will be in charge of their own meals, they will get supplies to cook with, or receive a donation for shopping, so we will cover costs for all meals.

    The closest by shop is organic and 1,2 mile walk. However occasional rides to the village of nailsworth and the town of stroud can be shared. Having own transport increases freedom however, since public transport is quite scarce.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village of Kingscote is at 1 Mile, but with only 200 souls. There are quite Some activities in The village hall, The church is pretty and there is a pub (obviously :-) ) The closest shop is organic and 1,2 mile walk the other way, next to another pub.

    However occasional rides to the village of nailsworth and the town of stroud can be shared. Having own transport increases freedom however, since public transport is quite Scarce and closest bus stop at 1 Mile.

    The area here is beautiful, amazing Walks (we are next to public footpath) and lovely Cotswold villages, great to visit. Farmers market in stroud on saturdays is awesome, and stroud is the closest town nearby, nailsworth has lovely shops & activities as has horsley.

    There are train connections to London (75 mins) and Bristol (35 mins) closeby

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 392199275374