updated   Last minute

Providing education and improving the lives of children in Morogoro, Tanzania

  • Tanzania
  • Favourited 184 times
  • Last activity: 23 Mar 2023




  • Description


    My name is Selly (26)yrs old . I live in small town so called “Morogoro” in Tanzania, and I am the founder of a non-profit organization (NGO). We are passionate about supporting children and youth especially those who live in vulnerable situations in our community here in Kihonda, Morogoro!

    For now, the NGO has no school. We are using the classroom of a day care center / school because the teacher accept to let us use his classroom until we have being finish our own school (for now ourown school is under constructions).

    Here is how it works :
    Actually our peoject is based only in evening class, i mean we used to operate our programs in the vening time around 4:00 until 6:30 by teaching the kids the fallowing things
    1.Basic mathematics
    2.English language
    4.sports and art
    5.life skills.
    And our kids aged arround 4 years up to 15years old .And we used to divide them into two classes according to their ages and levels.
    Some children are visibly malnourished and have simple health problems and skin issues, clothes that are torn and do not fit them. Many don't have adequate footwear to protect their feet. Many come from single parent families, or live with a relative due to the parent being ill, deceased, or to busy trying to find income and food. The children respond very positively to adults teaching them and engaging with them.
    When volunteers visit, they are welcome to teach and support either kindergarten(if she /he will be interested) : the one in the morning, aged 4 years up to 6 years.
    These kids are out of our programs but sometimes they need help especially English-language, drawing and simple mathematics .
    We have a blackboard, and the kids like to practice the alphabet, counting, learn the names of body part, plants, animals, greetings in English. They love to play soccer outdoors on their break too.

    We need your fresh energy and presence to help us create experiences that will ignite the children's desire to learn and pursue education in the future!
    We have small two rooms(apartment) and 4beds automatically we can host 3 up to 4 only volunteers at the same time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can learn Swahili language
    Travelers can learn to cook local foods from the local people.
    They can travel to different places here for tours (safaris) tours within the city and outside such as:
    -Kinole Waterfall
    -Uluguru Mountains
    -Selous Game Reserve
    -Mikumi national park
    -Maasai village
    Also we arrange Trip to Zanzibar beaches

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We're looking for someone who can help us with:
    We would love someone who can teach our children English language, mathematics, and different songs and other simple things for the kids as arts, sports, drawing, painting…
    The main project is that we want to become independent and not to use the school that we are actually using because the place (school) we are using at the moment is too small. Sometimes it limits us to operate some programs especially sports and art events. We want to have our own school so it means: buy a land, build the school and all others things we have to think about if we want our project to come true.
    NOVEMBER 2021: Nathan, Elie and Pierre came for volunteering and they helped us by teaching the kids but also with a 600$ fundraising that allows us to buy the land. Also FEBRUARY 2022: Corentin and Julie came for volunteering and they help us to start the construction of our school (two class rooms and toilet) A big thank to them for helping us to do the first big step in our project. So for now we have enough land and we already started the construction the next step is to proceed with the project I mean (construction).
    So we are looking for someone who can come to do the same as the former volunteers did I mean teaching the kid and doing fundraising.
    3 .BIKE TOUR
    Our organization is located nearby by the Uluguru mountains, Choma waterfalls and other attractions so as an organization we aimed to establish this new project (bike tour)in order to promote local tourism also to emphasize people to strength their health by doing bike tour because as the part of excises, also to reduce air pollution because of using too much vehicles.
    This project is for every weekend, every weekend we used to go different places over here (morogoro) for enjoyment as a tour. So we are looking for someone who can come to promotes this new project.
    Also an organization aimed to empower the youth according to their talents especially music,we have local home studio for recording audios (music)so as an organization we are looking for someone (an expert) to come to teach us on how to record ,mixing and mastering of good music.also to come to teach as how to play different instruments like guitar,ukulele, piano and another like.

    - To provide better education (for both kids&youth
    -To empower community youth’s on economic activities
    -To support and to upgrade the talents

    - thanks to fundraising for now our school (two classes)is under constructions
    -we created awareness and trust to the community about the important of education
    -we achieved to reduce street’s children for some how
    -as an organization we achieved new experiences through culture exchange
    That are very important

    Wish List:
    You can bring items to help our education programs things like learning toys, textbooks, coloring books, pencils, clothes, used laptops, printers, good markers and crayons,games

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to improve my English language,French and German as well if possible

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers will stay in our special house for our volunteers with electricity, security and water. In the house there are a room, toilet and also a living room. The neighboor are very welcoming and you will enjoy to live as a local during the time you stay here. There are little shops next to the house that are selling the basic things you will need.

    During the week or the week end we can go in town to eat in a restaurant, go to the mountain or in a hotel with a swimming pool and a better internet connection.

    We suggest our volunteers to use Dar Es Salaam airport because it is near to Morogoro, 4-5 hours by bus. We will pick you up at the Morogoro bus station (bus companies : Abood, BM coach).

    Local transport
    In Tanzania we use private transport and public transport to travel one place to another so it's an option to volunteer to choose what is preferable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am a cool and humble person who loves to meet new people and learn new things. I really look forward to visitors coming, we are always so excited to host volunteers! I want to learn new ways of teaching the children and hear your ideas of how we can encourage and support our students in a more impactful way. You are welcome here!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    All pets are welcome! We also want to teach the children how to properly handle pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week (5 days)

Host ref number: 391354954146

Feedback (10)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)

Support a community non-profit organisation in Bukoba, Tanzania
Help me with gardening and caring for my two dogs near the beach in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania