Farm stay in the Ottawa Valley, ON, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have two farm stay cottages on our farm in the beautiful Ottawa valley in Ontario, Canada. We host families, kids camps and retreats. Our 140 acres of mainly forest and a couple of fields is home to our herd of horses, cows, sheep, donkey, chickens, pigs and ducks. You can reach us via Greyhound bus service which will get you to the nearest town and we can pick you up from there. We live in a remote area with no public transport.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will meet a lot of people who come to stay on our farm, many from other cultures. We live a humble life which revolves around providing food for ourselves.. You will learn our way of life, what it takes to be a guardian of the land and how we look after and protect our livestock. There will be an opportunity to learn Natural Horsemanship and to communicate with our horses using a relationship based foundation.

  • Help

    Help

    If you love animals and nature you will love it here. You will need to be flexible and able to help out where needed. We host farm stays so there will be some cleaning required. There are numerous jobs that need to be done alongside myself or my husband and independently. All the work is manual with some heavy lifting required at times. We are a working farm and require your help with our every day chores which will include cleaning out animal shelters, splitting and piling firewood, weeding, painting fences and anything else that needs doing on a daily basis. Common sense and a good work ethic is required. Someone who likes children and has some horse knowledge would be important especially when we host our kids camp in July.

    Come September / October we will need help with moving and piling firewood ready for winter and removing docks from nearby Lake Clear, physical strength is required for the latter.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live with us in our house, it's just my husband and I and a couple of cats. You will have your own bedroom and meals will be provided. We grow a lot of our own food and raise our own meat. A little help in the kitchen would be appreciated. Our food is very basic so if you require anything extra you will need to provide this yourself. We live on a limited budget with no luxuries.
    Please be sensitive to our way of life and keep everything to moderation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We don't leave the farm very often so if you want to see the surrounding area it would be best to have your own transport. We sometimes hang out at the lake on a hot afternoon. Most of our jobs are done in the morning and evening allowing time to relax in the afternoons.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day- 6 days a week









Host ref number: 388867739381