Help some ex-workawayers at their finca in Elche, Alicante

Country

Spain

Favourited 183 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello. We are Sharon and Jason; a mid 40s British couple who have decided to settle in Spain after spending a year travelling around Europe in a battered motorhome. During that year we did approximately 12 workaway assignments and loved it, having fabulous experiences and meeting wonderful people along the way. So now it’s our turn to be hosts!

    We bought an old Spanish house 3 yeas ago that required a lot of work (the whole property was empty for about two years before we bought it). We have been busy painting and fixing up the main house, but as I (Sharon) sometimes commute to the UK for work, and Jason does gardening and odd jobs in Spain, progress will inevitably start to slow down. This is why we’d like some help from the friendly world of workaway!

    Because we have animals (see below), it can be difficult to get away. So if you do get in touch we may ask you to look after the house and our furry friends so that we can have a few days off. So if you're happy for this to be part or all of a possible workaway stay please say so, though this would probably only work if you had your own transport (if we were leaving our car you are welcome to use it, as long as you are over 25 years of age, can drive a manual, and didn't mind using a very battered old car!).

    We have 2 large orchards, mostly consisting of oranges. These constantly need tidying up and weeding. We also juice most of our oranges which can be quite a time consuming task in itself! We have also converted an old shoe factory into a 3 bedroom annex which we rent out.

    We always have some 'project' on the go, whether it be something new that needs to be done on the property or general upkeep and maintenance. Something always needs to be painted or fixed somewhere!

    We would also hope that you wouldn't mind helping out with household tasks if necessary. As we are both so busy, any assistance with preparing food, cooking, clearing up afterwards would be much appreciated. Our spare time is limited so people who are self sufficient would be a great asset!

    We are based just outside Elche in Alicante, in an area called Daimes. There isn’t much to do, so our home would probably appeal more to those who prefer peace and quiet and who have their own transport (rumour has it that there are buses, but these do seem to be few and far between!). Couples might be best, unless you’re an independent soul who can entertain yourself (though you of course would be more than welcome to hang out with us should you want to).

    In return we can offer you a bedroom in the main house, though please realise that things are a bit rustic (we have a nice hot water supply now, but only Spanish tv). However, we do have a good wi-fi connection. We work hard and do long hours, but do enjoy some nice food and cheap red wine in the evenings! If the nights are still warm enough we sit outside watching the stars, the storms, the fireworks, or the antics of our pretty dumb but lovely adopted rescue dogs Jako, Charlie and Georgia, or the greedy cats, Petra and Tigre (a feral called Shadow also comes for food in the evening too now). We also have 5 chickens and a cockerel, so you may even get some fresh eggs every now and again!

    Even though the house is a bit off the beaten track, if you have your own vehicle it’s only 10 minutes to the nearest beach or Dolores, 5 minute drive to the outskirts of Elche, less than that to La Hoya, or 25 minutes to Alicante town. There are even some bars / restaurants within walking distance (about 15 minutes to the nearest village / 10 minutes to the nearest restaurant, renowned in the area for it's paella).

    So if you think that you’d like to join us in our attempts to get our home and land sorted (or are happy to house / animal sit so that we can go away) please get in touch. We’d try and make your stay as enjoyable as possible and try and give you varied tasks (though this will obviously depend on what’s being done at the time!). In return we’d ask that you volunteer 5 hours a day / 5 day week.
    We look forward to hearing from you.
    Sharon and Jason

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    Help with the orchards and land in general. General maintenance and upkeep of the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom in main house

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day / 5 day week








Host ref number: 387495328365