Help around hause and farm in Lēdurgas pagasts, Latvia

Country

Latvia

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/03/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are 2 dreamers (Hungarian man and Latvian women), who met in Transylvania, fell in love, married and mooved to Latvia to live in the lonely old farm in the middle of forest and bogs. Now in our bi-national familly growing up 3 little children.
    In general our lifestyle is based on environment friendly solutions and organic farming principles. Self-sufficiency is one of our goals. Permaculture, holistic animal care, log cabin and constructions using local materials are some of our interests.
    Our special passon are horses :) There are some horses, sheeps, goats, rabits, hens, cats and dog in our farm.
    The Hungarian man's name is Antal and he is an artist experienced woodcarver-carpenter. The Latvian women's name is Maija and her profession is environment expert, every working day she drives to the nearest town to job.
    We are very much interested and trying to keep alive both the Latvian and Hungarian cultural traditions.
    And by the way - we love to have guests :) Moreover, despite the fact that our children are growing up in the middle of forest, they are incredible open and communicative :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During volunteering in our farm you have option to learn a lot about life and works in farm. It depends on season and your interests, what exactly. From Antal you can learn wooden works.
    Helpers definitely will have option to be in nature :) get to know about Latvian and/ or Hungarian cultur, language and history, taste traditional foods, to have recomendations about places to visit, and of course, to get to know more about horses...

  • Help

    Help

    We are still far from our dream about farm. The place, where we live, has been without permanent inhabitants more then 10 years. It means - house needs to be renovated, other old buildings in farm - saved from falling, fields - cleaned from bushes etc. + we have a lot of new ideas, how to improve our and animals life in the farm + general maintanace and seasonal works.
    For now everything is in the process...
    and children takes a LOT :)
    So, your help can be useful in very diverse range :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Latvian, Hungarian, English, Romanian, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For our guests and best helpers we offer one room in our house. There is also bathroom with warm water. With your help we could make one more room suitable for living.
    You have option also to stay outdoor, if you want, we have beautifull and wide garden, where to put tent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here are nothing more then nature around farm, nearest village center is 6km, nearest bus stop 3km, seaside - 30km, Riga - 70km

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 386912482985