I am looking for help to get the land back into good heart. This will include hedge trimming, chopping back the brambles- Somerset, England

Country

United Kingdom

Last minute

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an artist. I have been living off grid in Somerset for 8 years. I have a hectare of land with permaculture, forest garden and 2 horses, with whom I practice natural horsemanship. I have solar electricity and lovely fresh borehole water.
    We planted many willows which we harvest to make sculptures and baskets.
    I am interested in using the skills I have developed on a larger scale with others in community.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will see a permaculture site that has been developed over the past 8 years and how horses are an integral part of the project. They can learn about natural horsemanship. They can also learn about willow work and ultra violet artwork.

  • Help

    Help

    I have had both hips replaced in the last year and my site has become very overgrown and neglected. I am looking for help to get the land back into good heart. This will include hedge trimming, chopping back the brambles,
    converting some areas to woodchip and preparing the hotbed for early planting.
    I hope to install a better compost loo and hopefully a shower.

    Some help with preparing meals would be preferable.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    some Spanish and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is pretty basic. The placement would be ideal for someone with a live in vehicle suitable for winter. I do have a large horsebox that could be lived in but would need to have a stove installed.
    I would think that meal preparation would be shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Frome is a special town with many interesting people, art, music and events, and a strong sense of community.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 386518611137