Help at our small family farm/ gardening project on the beautiful countryside in Huttwil, Switzerland



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hi! We are Irene & Ruedi, a swiss couple in our 50ies, living at lovely little farm in the countryside of switzerland.
    Our kids Aline 26, Martin 24 and Denise 22 moved almost all out, at least temorarly,so we are looking for some help and some more life in our house and surroundings.

    *** UPDATE SPRING/SUMMER 2023 - please read all before you apply.
    Irene is currently setting up a flowerpatch to grow cutflowers for shops. So this year we need mostly help with this garden project. Please ONLY APPLY if you have at least a basic knowledge in gardening, plants or garden construction. AND if you are ready to get your handy dirty and to do physical hard work sometimes. It's very helpful if you konw the difference between some weed and a good plant...**

    We basically need help in and around the house; in summer and autumn there are so many fruits that needs to be picked ( we have cherries, strawberries, rasperries, blueberries, kiwis, apples, plums..) We are doing a lot with them, like cooking jam, drying and conservating them. Then I have a huge garden with vegetables and flowers where is always some deadheading or weeding that needs to be done.

    Ruedi is a carpenter and runs his own little business beside the farm.On the farm itself there are not many animals anymore as we are now focusing on the carpentry. We have a dog and the grandparents who live next to us (our only neighbors) are also keeping some chickens and cats.

    Me, Irene, and my husband Ruedi love to travel and we are interested in other cultures, people and their stories! We've hosted exchange students from different parts of the world for three years and made so much good experiences with them. Our kids are not often at home, but they also love to get to know new people!
    Twice a week i am day nanny to kids of two different family, which always brings some different vibe to the house.
    Furthermore we are looking forward to learn new languages and everything about your culture and we are happy to teach you german (or even some swiss german phrases) if you are keen to learn that quite difficult language :)

    We are situated outside of the small lovely village called Huttwil. The area we live is beautiful, you just have to be aware that there is no regular bus transport in front of our house and the train station is reachable in about 15min by bike. But trust me, you will love it and there are cars and bikes you can borrow so it's easy to get around!
    You have a private small room with a shared bathroom.
    The big cities like Lucerne, Zürich and Berne are all about 1h by train.

    As we had already different experiences with workaways, we would like to mention that we are not a place to make some lovely holidays on a farm. We are very flexible and we will do a lot for you if we see that your interest and your motivation in staying with us is real. If we feel that this is only a place to sleep and you "have to do" some work in exchange, it won't be a memorable exchange for both of us. We appreciate as well if you like the oudsides and nature and not just want to spend your freetime on your phone.
    Also we like to share meals together, sit together and discuss, have some friends invitet..and it's a pleasure for us if you share this with us.
    As a lot of the food comes from our own grounds, we are not able to cook vegan, lactose free or to adapt our food to other special diets. Of course, we can take attention if you have some special allergies but please tell us in advance or bring your own special food. :)

    thank you for reading this!
    we are looking forward to hear form you!

    Irene & Ruedi

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a lively family and like to be outside, hike, bike, travel.. We would love to show you some places in switzerland if we have time. This place is perfect if you want to expericence the real, calm switzerland, learn about farming, gardening or just want to be with a 100% swiss family! There is so much to see in the countryside here but however you are fast in the bigger cities. The trainsystem in switzerland is amazing and our country is small, so you can explore everything within a short time.
    We really appreciate the cultural exchange, to learn to see the world in a different way and making new friends!
    We can show you some typical swiss meals and if you like to cook, we are happy to taste your special meals!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Help in the garden, house and surroundings. Some days it can be phisicaly hard, other days we just ask for a few light tasks, so you'll have plenty of time to explore switzerland; we are flexible regarding your days off.
    Help is very different each season, summer/autumn is our busiest season. In winter there is Huttwil's amazing Christmasmarket where we are involved and somtimes need some help too.
    We are also open to new ideas and are looking forward to every skill you bring into our family!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room with a shared bathroom. We are eating all together, so when you are working or around here while you are off, we are happy to share all the food with you. And we appreciate all help with cooking and preparing food. We are accepting vegetarians but we will not cook extra. So if you are vegetarian and want some special meals you would have to prepare them yourself.
    Not accepting vegans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This place is not for you if you expect a bus in front of the house every five minutes and shopping in walking distance. You have to be aware that your hands can get dirty and work can be phisically hard.

    But you also have to know that we are a funny and sometimes crazy bunch of people and it will never get boring with us!

    We would love to hear from you!!

    Irene & Family

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 384959413439

Feedback (10)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

If you like nature, sport and kids you are welcome at our place in Le Châble, 10 min from the famous ski resort Verbier, Switzerland
Join our multicultural family and help with babysitting and meals in Onnens, Switzerland