Come to Maine and help on our family farm. Piggies, gardens and yard work

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a 74 acre farm in the Mid-coast region of Maine where we raise animals with respect and dignity; pigs in the woods, pasture raise chickens and turkeys, free range chickens for eggs. We also have 2 dogs, 3 cats.

    I attend farmer's markets regularly May through October and sporadic markets throughout the winter. We have a new 30 x 72 high tunnel as well as various farm garden beds. Plans for 2021 include producing more value added products.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mid coast Maine is a great travel/tourist destination. Portland is a great little city and is only 1.5 hrs away, the White Mountains have various offerings depending on the season within 2.5 hrs and Boston has much to offer 3 hrs away. Locally there are many hiking trails, swimming spots and beautiful views. I'm always happy to share what I know about farming.

  • Help

    Help

    My year round daily chores include feeding and watering animals, during the warmer months we add seed starting, planting, watering, weeding and harvesting. We also fit in jam and soap making when needed, make balsam wreaths, balsam and lavender sachets and for the farmer's markets we also bake breads and treats.

    Carpentry skills are always needed on the farm! Help with family meals is welcomed, though you have a separate kitchen and we won't share all meals together. There is always a wish list somewhere be it home/farm maintenance or a small construction project, fence building, splitting/stacking firewood, removing trees killed by livestock, barn cleaning, stone wall repair, lawn mowing and basic landscape work.

    We're overdue for some exterior home staining. we're planning to replace some fruit trees, grapes, asparagus, strawberries and raspberries.

    I have an instant garage frame that I'd love to have moved to a new location and turn into a greenhouse. Woods trails could use some clearing and flower beds to be revived.

    I sometimes need computer/internet assistance, If you have something to offer that isn't mentioned here, please chime in!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodations are in our guesthouse here on the farm which is a 2 bedroom ranch with full kitchen and bath. There are 4 twin beds as we occasionally house other volunteers or a farm apprentice as well as WorkAwayers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 18 miles from the coast, there are many hiking trails and lakes and ponds in our area. Camden, Belfast and Rockland offer downtown shopping, restaurants and night life. We have a canoe for you to use locally. We are in the country and public transportation is limited.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 383579674734