Help on our stud farm where we breed horses in Galway, Ireland



Favourited 910 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We are a busy family of 3 children,. We all work on the stud farm which is an EU station and also a vet clinic. We produce horses for showjumping and eventing. Its a busy life but always fun. We would like to host workaway's who have some experience with horses. Also if you have farming experience with large animals that would be helpful.

    We don't do stress, we want everyone to enjoy their time here. There is of course work to be done but that is enjoyable, caring for the animals and making sure they have the best and are always comfortable.
    We have availability now for the spring and summer months.

    We also have 2 dogs! Big Harry and small Sally!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will improve their language skills, they will learn all about the business of stud farming, and see the lovely Irish countryside and west of Ireland.

    Living and working with the family and other students it is a vibrant and happy place to spent some time.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help


    Helping on our stud farm where we breed showjumpers and eventers. Some help with our 9 year old boy, helping him with his ponies .

    Normally we have about 3 students here so its a nice environment for people to experience other nationalities and cultures, along with experiencing the lovely Irish culture and beautiful countryside.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have a new self contained shared apartment with full facilities, warm and clean.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live only 10 minutes from Loughrea, from where there are bus links to the most of Ireland. We are also only 40 minutes from Galway, a lovely city to visit on your days off.

    We have students coming here for over 20 years, and without exception they have all enjoyed their time here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 382778756498