Help with the kids needed in a small village, Weglowka, Poland

Country

Poland

updated  

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 38 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4...:) Ania (38), Paweł (38), Sophie (5) and Adela (1), plus our cats Daisy, Nero Candy and her babies. We also have chickens :~} Ania is an ex nurse and midwife and now in the process of a career change :) And Paweł is a telecom engineer and works mostly from home office.

    After living in England for 17 years, we have decided to pack up our home there, sell everything and buy a house in a beautiful, hilly part of Poland, small village called Węglówka, where we plan to have a life close to nature, start a small farm and maybe host guests in the future.
    We have also tried living in Tokyo, Japan, for 6 months. And Paweł lived in Finland for 2 years and South Africa for 1.5 years. We have travelled around Europe, and love meeting new people, learning about new cultures and would love to share experiences with people that would want to come to Poland.

    We are also very creative, we love to recycle and reuse, create furniture out of old pieces of wood, restore old furniture. Paweł creates lovely things on a leathe and Anna paints pictures and other things on canvas and wood. We have artistic souls.

    Our new house needs finishing, the land is hilly and rocky, but the views from the house are breathtaking. There is lots of walking trails in the mountains around us and we are only 1 hour away by car from Kraków. You benefit from clean air, amazing views and lots of walking and hiking possibilities. Also skiing in winter. We are surrounded by forests, and farm animals but also if you are lucky you will see some wild animals.

    Our 5 year old daughter would love to practice her language skills, and so would we.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life in a small village, in the middle of nowhere, but with possible access to big city for sightseeing. Lots of walking and hiking routes near the house. There is also an astronomical observatory close to us - you can book a space for a night time sky watching! And a skiing centre is close by, for winter activity.
    We speak English fluently. So language practice is possible.
    Contact with our friends, neighbours and family, so lots of new people to meet. - We are sociable and would love you to join us in the evenings, have a campfire together or join in during family gatherings or if we have friends around. At the same time, we are happy that we both need some "alone" time, so all to be discussed.
    Possible some teaching practice if you would like to share your language with us and other people in the village. Maybe a visit to a local school to talk to them about you :) I have lots of ideas so everything is possible :D

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Update July: We have had some busy times helping refugees from Ukraine, but now desperately need help in late August / September to help me (Ania) look after our girls. I have reached a stage when I am really tired and need help on daily basis. Because of the nature of Pawel's work he is busy until about 6 pm- 6.30 pm. Main help would be needed in the afternoons. We can either have a child each to look after :) or do something together. I hope that if you stay with us, you can be quite independent,,,,energetic and somehow creative. Sophie is a demanding child, very nice and friendly but also a chatterbox, thinks she is the boss, she has some difficulties that I can share with you in a private message. She likes spending time with young women, and if you are good with kids and can be patient with her, it could be a great adventure. It is quite important to be able to drive here- otherwise you are stuck in the middle of the forest- we love it but it has proofed a challenge for some people. You will stay in a separate small flat, with a small kitchen annexe and own bathroom. We will give pocket money I can offer for 6 hours a day help 200 euro per month - to be discussed privately. Sophie was born in England, can speak little english, and with a bit of practice would probably pick up very fast.

    If you think the above sounds like a good fit for you please get in touch !

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small studio flat with own bathroom. It is not very well furnished yet, but will have a bed and some form of storage space for your clothes etc. - will be discussed before you arrive. Wi-fi in the house. Own entry. Outside space to enjoy nice weather - again, will be used just by you (if you wish).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do and see. Plenty of contact with nature, plus bigger cities around us to sightsee. Kraków is one hour away by car (about 50 km away) and Wieliczka salt mine is 40 mins by car (35 km), to name the few.
    I would like the person that chooses us to be able to drive-otherwise it will not be possible to help me with all I need.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Very good internet connection despite living in the middle of nowhere:)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, maximum 25 hours, with two full days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.5)







Host ref number: 381855298743