Live in close connection with nature, help with cooking, cleaning, retreats and the garden Midi Pyrenees, Frane

Country

France

Favourited 208 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple from Amsterdam who traded our hectic city life for a beautiful place in the nature in the middle south of France. It is a very rural area with lots of farm land. We are at the edge of a lake and a nature reserve and live basically in the woods. We are turning this land into a retreat place where people can come and reconnect with themselves and nature.

    We do everything ourselves and are quite new to this so we would love to have a hand. We are pretty far constructing by now and are planning on opening to the public this spring :-). There will still be some small jobs in construction and maintenance. But most of the work will be cooking, cleaning, helping out with retreats and gardening.

    We love to socialize, share and have nice meals together. But we also like our alone time once in a while, especially after a hard day of construction work we sometimes cant say or do anything anymore. So we like people who are sociable, but also independent.
    We are very open, straight forward and honest, so we will tell you what we like, dont like and need at certain moments. We ask our guests to do the same as that makes communication and living together a lot more pleasant.

    You can check us out on facebook: Alauzet
    Instagram: maison_alauzet


    *️*️*️ If you dont get a response within 3 days it normally means we don't need workawayers at that moment. Sometimes we are so overwhelmed with work, guetst, traveling and other things that i just cant respond to every message, sorry for that!" *️*️*️

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Its a great experience to live in such close connection with nature as here!
    Most people really get a stronger connection with themselves since there is no constant stimulation from the outside world as in the city. We can also do yoga and meditate together as melissa is a yoga teacher. We can teach you about bee keeping, making natural creams, toothpaste and other natural beauty products.

  • Help

    Help

    The last few years we have been building our little paradise. Now we will finally open to receive guests. We will be renting out 3 cabins, and maybe our own house too. We will also host a few retreats.

    We have no idea how much work it will be to receive guests, so to be fully prepared we would like to have a like minded couple staying with us to take some pressure off the workload. People who are into a natural and holistic lifestyle. Who are sociable, responsable and enjoy hard work. Its a pre if you have your own camper or car.
    We prefer to have people staying with us the whole season. But we ask a minimum commitment of 1 month.

    The main jobs are cleaning and cooking. Next to that there are always creative projects, things to do in and around the house, in the garden and maybe we'll finally get to raise some chickens. And we have a bar where we plan to make fresh juices and healthy treats.

    We will also have a temple that can be used to give classes and holistic therapies. So if you have special skills in yoga, dance, massage etc. you can offer your services to guests and the local community. We also have a specific liking for musicians and story tellers!

    Besides that we also have a huge terrain of 1,5 hectars which is quite wild because of the lack of maintenance, plus we are planning to make an organic vegetable garden. If there are any experienced arborists or permaculture fanatics they will be super welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We prefer people who have their own camper van, that way you have your own space and privacy. But we also have a beautiful cottage thats available if you are willing to stay and work with us the entire season.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With this project we intent to inspire and motivate people to take care of mother nature and to respect the elements. We only use natural and biodegradable washing and beauty care products because the water used in the house flows back into the land. We ask from our guests to only use natural products as well. We can give a suggestion of products to bring if you are not familiar with this. Or we can explain you how to make your own.

    Our area is a very beautiful natural surrounding. We are right at a lake at the start of a nature reserve, you can go for long walks, swim, go canoeing, meditate and just be. Melissa is a yoga teacher and would love to do some classes together.
    There are several old villages around that are nice to visit such as saint Eulalie d'olt, saint come d'olt, Bozouls and Estaing. And there are plenty of farmers markets to visit and get a real feeling of the French countryside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of land, so any size campervan is welcome.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    We love Dogs, so you're very welcome to bring them. However, they need to be well behaved and be friendly with other dogs. We also ask you to frequently walk your dog and check for turds in the garden as we like to keep our terrain clean :-)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 days a week, 5hrs per day. We are very flexible and easygoing with this.


Host ref number: 378773666164