updated  

Create a tiny house and sustainable/re-use cottages, Garden, Home-Stay with Family, USA

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five, two adults and kids ages 12, 7, 4. We live in an older house, built in 1926 that has beautiful greenery and an apple tree out front. We're gradually working on the house, and have a busy family life with our high-energy life-loving kids, a small older dog, and generally busy schedules.

    This year we are also starting to work on a property we are developing about 5 blocks away, close to the riverfront. Eventually we'll deconstruct the old a run-down 1922 farmhouse and reclaim the materials to build a small cluster of cottages! In early 2024, we are starting the first stage of work, building a tiny home on wheels and preparing for a small urban flower farm we hope to start in the spring. (This is a long-held dream of Alex's, coming from decades of work in community development and affordable housing).

    We'd love to host people looking to explore the world and from anywhere. More about our projects in the section about what help we are looking for. We can offer Spanish lessons if that's of interest.

    Our neighborhood is a gem in Portland, next to the river, easy transportation to downtown/other areas, and a really great neighborhood vibe, shops and cafes to walk to, parks and a bird sanctuary, and next to the bike trail that crosses Portland.

    We’re only able to host workawayers who are up to date on vaccines. Best for travelers who enjoy the joyful energy and sometimes changing plans that come with having small humans around. :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We greatly enjoy meeting and hosting people, helping folks have a great visit in Portland, sharing food and time together. Our kids also love meeting and spending time with new people. Working on our passion projects and home projects is a terrific opportunity to learn skills in light construction and home maintenance, landscaping and urban farming, and alternative housing development.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We' ve just started doing workaway and really love it - we've gotten to meet some fantastic travelers. Having help with our projects and household has been amazing, and we all enjoy having different guests and getting to know them some.

    SCHEDULE
    We ask for 15-18 hours of work per week, over 2-3 blocks of scheduled work exchange time on a mutually agreeable schedule. Work exchange is divided between "help around the house" and projects, with workawayers doing some of each.

    We ask that workawayers be available for help on the weekend 1-2 weekends per month. If your plans for your time in Portland include activities with specific schedules that would limit availability, we ask that you let us know this in advance (ie if you plan to do classes or activities in the evenings, or would like to have one week on/one week off to travel in the area, etc.)

    HELP AROUND THE HOUSE
    - Childcare/kid's activities, planning and preparing family meals, grocery shopping, light housework (kitchen cleanup, general tidying, sweeping).
    - If it's of interest, we will gratefully accept help with laundry and other cleaning, but only if that feels comfortable for you.

    PROJECTS
    - Helping work on the riverside property - light construction and carpentry, urban farming, and at some point learning about deconstruction and re-use.
    - Home improvement and maintenance projects as well such as yardwork, organizing projects (we definitely always need help with this), pet care.
    - If you have trade skills already, fantastic, and if not but willing to learn and ok with manual labor, also great!

    Some projects may be more independent, others will involve working alongside us as a team.

    BONUS/SPECIAL TALENTS
    Music, art, creative talents, outdoors skills, wellness care, yoga classes... ? We're open to receiving any amazing activity that you have special talents in and would like to offer to any family member(s)!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Alex taught English while living in Mexico City in her 20's, and gave private Spanish lessons after back to the States. Lessons in either language can be part of our exchange.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer two options for accommodation: 1. Private bedroom with desk, drawer space, and shared bathroom on the main floor. 2. Private bedroom and bath in our basement, with desk and dresser space.

    Breakfast and dinnertimes workawayers are welcome to join our family meals, and are also welcome to use the main kitchen at any time for cooking independently. There is also a small kitchenette setup in the basement for use when there's a need for quiet time away from our busy family life.

    A note about space and privacy: When we have a guest, we consider your rooms to be really yours and that you can have privacy (and space from family bustle in). Some family items are stored in our guest rooms and we'll need to take those out/store again from time to time and we try to make sure that's minimal. We also do our best to make sure kids respect your space and don't disturb folks whose door is closed.

    If you'll be away/travelling for more than a couple of nights, we ask that you let us know in advance and we may ask that you tidy up/pack personal items so that we can host another guest - we sometimes have family or friends coming to stay and will want to offer them the guest room if you won't be around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We’re located near the river, near parks, shopping , cafes, antique shops, and a bird sanctuary. Only a 15 minute train ride to downtown, and we are next to a bike trail that crosses Portland. We have a bike available to borrow, and can provide a car for use when doing household tasks. Our neighborhood is a gem - really beautiful and forested, lots of things to do, and kind, community-minded neighbors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our spare room has good wifi (used to be used as an office) and can have ethernet run if desired. There's a desk and chair, as well as an arm chair. Depending on schedules it could also work for nomads to work in the common space upstairs, or on the covered porch in summer. Printing can be available if folks can cover the ink cost.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    For workawayers who'll be working on our riverside project, we have room for parking, water and power available, and greywater drainage. No sewer hookup.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Workawayers are welcome to bring small dogs/other pets, if willing to keep pets in the guest room if they don't click well with our small older dog (or if staying in a campervan). Larger dogs considered on a case by case basis.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    16-20 hours per week

Host ref number: 378345195739

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Experience a different kind of education on a beautiful piece of land we are bringing back to life in Reno, Nevada, USA
Help needed in our hostel in Jackson Hole Ski Resort, USA