Earthship-inspired house in a vegan permaculture garden in Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 831 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    359

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 36 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey Everyone. our project is changing quite a bit, until then we are not hosting any volunteers.
    --------------------------------------------------

    Hey, I'm Elvyn (I changed my name) and this project is our community garden that I share with my friends Lena, Helena and Theseas. Frankly this garden was a bit of a mess when we bought it, (that's the only reason we were able to afford it) but we've been working quite hard to make it very nice and cosy.

    The garden aspiring to be a permaculture foodforest type garden, with lot's of room for people to experience peace and hide away, as well as renovate the house for us as a temporary home / atielier. For that we are using sustainable ressources and and techniques (for example the different earthship designs). The Garden is supposed to be a place to calm down in nature, but also to have parties, gatherings, music art and good (vegan) food.

    -------------------------------------------------
    IMPORTANT (to save yourself time).

    DON'T apply if: You are looking for a comfortable stay in a cosy house, if you are not keen to do construction work, If you can't make it a few weeks without eating dead animals :b , If you are scared of sleeping in a tent. Don't apply if you are moving to Berlin and you already have other commitments like going to school, Uni or flathunting.

    PLEASE APPLY: if you are a maker, a visionary, if you feel the drive inside of yourself to leave your mark in this world. Be our guest if you want to see the starts of a lovely project that will hopefully go a very long way and touch a lot of peoples hearts. Apply if you would like to be in Berlin and meet some inspiring people that are my friends.

    I enjoy authentic straight forward requests that tell me whether or not you have any experience with woodworking or renovation work.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the garden many of my friends from different cultures are involved. It's a place where many people can come together and work, build something awesome, express themselves creatively or just chill and have a good time. We do lots of things that really bring together the artist and activist community of Berlin and do lot's of stuff that's hard to do in a normal flat, e.g. gardening, jam sessions, painting, BBQ. It's somehow hard to describe, but in those special moments everybody bring life and good vibes to this place and I hope you find your own part in that.

  • Help

    Help

    Main work so far has been renovating the house with recycled and sustainable materials (Earthship-style), the main renovation tasks are done but we're still looking for people to improve the space with some beautiful designs. People with experiences in Woodworking are highly appreciated. Apart from that the garden needs constant attention. This is the field of Theseas and Helena, who have a great overview of all that is still supposed to happen in this project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleeping: Guests have the choice to sleep either in a Tent or on the couch inside. If you can bring your own tent that's even better.

    Food: All food in the garden is vegan and I would really appreciate it if you don't bring any animal products with you. It really depends on who else is in the garden if there are regular meals or everybody is doing their thing.

    Internet: there is no wifi in the garden. Life has been a lot calmer since I'm living without internet so I've been reluctant on bringing wifi there, that's also because there is a really nice co-working space close by where I like to go and work.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Feel free to message us, mentioning your passions and the skills you can share and some reasons why you are looking forward to staying with me.
    Oh and send me a quote you like in your message, just so I know you read this bit to the end. :p

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    You set your own hours (max 25 hours/week)




Host ref number: 378267643366