Kids & household help in a peaceful countryside home by the sea in Munster, Ireland



Favourited 280 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hello everyone 😊
    Thank you for checking out our profile

    I'am Patricia we are a family of 4, we have two kids who are both in school. Our daughter Katie is 15 nearly 16 and full of the joys of life she is very easy going laid back, loves meeting new people and learning about new cultures and listening to interesting stories about travel, & loves listening to music.
    Our son Jack who is 8 turning 9 soon will have you captivated from the moment you meet him he is extremely out going energetic and loves sports & farming. They are both very lovable,outgoing and easy going kids.They love meeting new people and are not shy also they love the outdoors. we live on a farm in a quiet peaceful countryside near the sea. My husband 39 & is a self employed builder/carpenter & farmer. I am 37 & also have my own business as a massage, beauty therapist & make up artist which i love. We live in a beautiful valley by the sea in a 4 bedroom 2 story house which is located in a very scenic peaceful area on the wild Atlantic way at the bottom of the Healy pass which you can see from our front door behind us we have the Beara way walk which will take you across the mountains & into Glengarriff village. If you look up this area west cork & Kerry are two of the most beautiful & scenic places to visit in Ireland.
    Garnish island is a must see you get a boat to the island which takes 10 minutes from the village
    Ireland's second tallest mountain in county cork is a 5 min drive from our house hungry hill. We both travel 35 minutes to Kenmare for work. It's just won Ireland's best kept smallest town It's such a beautiful place & again there is so many things to see near there also.
    Kenmare is a tourist town which is very busy in the summer there is a bus from Kenmare town 4 times a day in the summer to Killarney town & cork city
    There is also a bus stop 3 minutes drive from our house so it's easy for you to get in and out of Adrigole even though we live in the countryside during the summer months. During the winter months the buses run less.
    We have quite a big lawn for the kids to play in.
    We love walking, cycling, swimming, picnics & long walks every chance we get. We also venture up the mountains every now & ten with a back pack full of goodies 😊
    Playing football in the lawn. We do love to chill out as well & watch movies.
    When it rains we go swimming in the leisure center/gym where my business is or to the cinema or visit family & friends.
    If you like to swim you can do so free of charge at the leisure center where my business is.

    You would have your own king size bedroom & bathroom with shower.
    Your own sitting room in the evening or you can sit in with us in the main sitting room too.
    The kids are sure to make you feel right at home.
    As I said they love meeting new people 😊

    *️️️️️️Our home is a smoke free zone only outside if you are smokers. But it's not a problem if you are a smoker.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Well cultural wise you are going to experience small Irish villages & towns & really see how it's a more of a relaxed lifestyle than the bigger cities.
    We have built our house on my family's farm which has been in my family for generations.
    My parents live quite near us in the home I grew up in on our family farms.
    My brothers have now taken over the farms which are all around us so you will also get to experience rural Ireland farming & how things were done long ago my dad still likes to do everything the old fashioned way. Our lambing season is April & May.
    My father was a story teller long ago in his younger days.
    He has some great stories that I'am sure you'll get a chance to hear he was what was called a seanchai (this word means story teller in Irish)
    You will see & learn just about everything to do with the Irish culture as i have a very big family who are always in & out of our home. When we go on family outings , you are more than welcome to join us. If there is anything i left please just ask. Looking forward to hearing from you.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for a lady that is easy going and good at adapting as we do not have a set schedule, good with kids and having a bubbly personality is important and good speaking English to help mind our kids and around the house.
    You will be part of our family during your stay with us.
    If you like to sit in your room all day then you are not for us.
    Work 5 days a week 5 hours per day.
    Every day in our life's is different we do not have a set schedule especially during the summer months.
    Housework/ cooking/ hovering / mop / dusting/ laundry/ homework/ basically what ever needs to be done.
    Each day is different clean up with the kids/doing activities with the kids to include swimming/cycling /walking and playing sports. You will nearly always have Saturday & Sunday off unless we have a family occasion then you will be with those weekends. We are used to doing all of this & the kids help too. If you are minding the kids then you will be in charge of making their meals the fridge will be stocked with food at all times you can help yourself but we do need someone who can cook in the kitchen.
    We can share culinary skills if I'am home we can both whip it up together Katie will help too sometimes and jack.
    when the kids are in school jack is the first home at 3pm. Katie is home at 4.30pm. On Wednesdays shes home earlier at 1.30pm.
    My parents pick them up from school and drop to to you when Eric and myself are working.
    If you need to ask any questions i'd be happy to answer them for you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own king size bedroom with plenty of wardrobe space & bathroom with shower.
    And in the evening you have your own sitting room if you like with your own smart TV with Netflix there are plenty of books also for you to read. We have 3 TV'S brilliant WiFi, Netflix & Sky TV.
    you are of course welcome to anything in our kitchen food when ever you like our fridge will be fully stocked at all times. Any dietary requirements you can let me know. I've collected many brochures & information on all the tourist attractions near by.
    We do try to have dinner together as a family every day if we can & chat about our day.
    we have 1 dog and 1 cat there is plenty of sheep and cows around us as we built our house on my family's farm
    you will get to see my brothers shearing sheep bailing hay/ silage if you are here when its being done summer months.
    We also have a bicycle for you to use if you like. If you'd like to go fishing we have a fishing rod for you too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty to see and do on yours days off.
    You can enjoy loads of boat trips locally, Kenmare Arts & Theater center, horse & pony trekking, swimming, fishing, hill walking ,golfing, bus tours, rock climbing, shopping, local food markets & loads more.
    not forgetting that we live on the beautiful ring of beara & the ring of Kerry.
    We do like a tidy house. 😊
    There is a bus stop about a 3 minute drive from our house where you can access anywhere really.
    The neatest train station is in Killarney or cork city.
    You are free to do what ever you like with your free/off time.
    You tell us what you want to do & we can point you in the right direction 😊

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 376987649929