Help around our finca and with the coffee making process in Aguadas, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers,

    My name is Leonel and live with my mother Doña Fabiola in a piece of land in Aguadas, Caldas. I have been growing coffee, bananas and other fruits such as avocado for the last 15 years. My coffee has international certificates from Nespresso, Starbucks and the Rain Forest Alliance that you can have while you are with us.

    Our family is modest, friendly, joyful and willing to share our lives, experiences and knowledge with the volunteers.

    So don't hesitate to contact us if you want to experience the real life of Colombians! We will be happy to get to know you and have you with us in our house!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our finca you can learn everything about growing coffee, bananas and other fruits, ranging from how to grow them to tasting them!
    You will share the house with Doña Fabiola and Don Leonel, two Colombians from Aguadas, so you can practice your Spanish with them and learn as much as you want about the life of Colombians and their culture.
    And what's more, you will live in an amazing finca in the middle of the nature, where you can relax and find calm.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with simple daily activities in the house, such as cooking and cleaning, and eventually some general maintenance such as painting or fixing stuff. These daily activities include feeding and taking care of the animals (3 dogs, 3 ducks and 1 hen).
    We also need someone to help us in the coffee making process (simple tasks such as washing, drying and operating the machinery). We will teach you all about it when you are here with us!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with wardrobe, mirror and dresser. Shared bathroom and kitchen with all the utilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our finca is really close to Aguadas, one of the most beautiful places in the Eje Cafetero. Aguadas is a Colombian municipality located north of the department of Caldas, 126 km north of Manizales and 136 km from Medellín. Aguadas offers visitors its historic center, declared a National Monument in 1982. It is also part of the Red de Pueblos Patrimonio de Colombia.

    In Aguadas you can find incredible Colombian food, such as Zancocho, Sudao, Caldo and Bandeja Paisa. Our finca has tons of bananas and other fruits that you can eat during your stay!

    Our region is also famous because of the nature. Here you can witness flora and fauna from the region, enjoy waterfalls or go hiking in the mountains.

    Our area has a mild climate (17-25ºC), so get ready to enjoy amazing sunsets, read your book in a hammock or listen to music and relax among banana trees.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 372956359521