Looking for some extra help for our family in Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a Dairy Farm outside Tipperary town. We have three boys and could do with an extra pair of hands especially around calving season either in the house or outdoors. Our eldest is four and we are teaching him how to ride, we have a small pony and hope to go to some local horseshows over the Summer. Other jobs that need doing include some gardening, childminding, painting. I am a school teacher currently on maternity leave as our youngest is 3 months. Other areas where help is needed may include some light house work & cooking. Life is quiet here but we are walking distance from the local town and there are loads of activities in the area such as hill walking. The train station is a short car ride or it’s possible to cycle so it’s a good base to travel around Ireland in your free time. We’re Looking for someone who enjoys country life. We have two dogs and some hens along with the cows and the pony previously mentioned. If you enjoy working outdoors and are good with small children then we are the family for you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a picturesque location looking out at the Galtee mountains. I am a secondary school teacher on maternity leave and so I’ll be present most of the time. I enjoy teaching and helping people learn. My husband has an Agricultural Science degree and if someone has an interest in farming life he would be willing to help them improve their knowledge of the Irish dairy industry.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    You may be asked to do the some of the following during your stay: Painting, gardening, light housework, cooking, day to day jobs around the house. Caring for animals (pony, dogs, hens) childminding, helping on the farm.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large bedroom with double bed is available. You will be sharing the family bathrooms (one upstairs, one downstairs) you will be expected to keep your living space clean & tidy & change your own bed linen. Breakfast will be self service. Fresh eggs from the hens, or cereal & toast. Family dinners usually consist of potatoes, vegetables and meat (chicken, beef, fish, pork). supper is usually relaxed toasted sandwiches, pizza, pasta, scrambled eggs etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is WiFi in the house and we have sky Tv and Netflix. My husband is a Man United fan and likes to watch the matches. You are welcome to take the dogs for a walk across the fields in your free time. You will have a tv and DVD player in your room if you would like to watch any of our collection of DVDs. There is a cinema and library in the town ( 1 1/2 miles away) as mentioned previously there is the Galtee walking club that go on hill walks. There is a swimming pool and tennis courts in town also. You can get the bus into Limerick city from Tipperary town. Where there are lots of things to see and do in your free time. There are various different exercise classes on in town. Along with restaurants & cafes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 369269761896