Looking for help re-indigenizing plants on our Southern Ontario family farm, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Thank you very much for your interest in volunteering at our small family farm. My Family is from downtown Toronto. We decided to sell the city home and buy a farm! Us city folk are just learning the basics right now, familiarizing ourselves with the land plants and animals. We normally have free range chickens and geese, but not this year as we are primarily focusing on the land and home. We have wildlife on 80 acres of secluded nature in rural Ontario. We have an ATV you are free to use and you will be able to take excursions when you wish. You will have your own room and access to all household amenities.

    We are looking for responsible, hardworking and personable travelers who are willing to work 5 hours daily in exchange for the wealth of experiences the land and local culture offers. There will be time every day for relaxation and play. We are located in Southern Ontario, 2.5 hours east of Toronto. We offer a private accommodation, wi-fi, shared bathrooms, laundry and all meals. We are looking for assistance with the following projects:

    Landscaping- Pruning, gardening, grooming and lawn maintenance
    Wood Cutter - Cutting, collecting and chopping wood
    Carpentry- Ongoing barn repairs and window
    And if you are certified in any trades that would be very helpful.

    You decide on your preferred projects and there will be lots of time to relax and plan your own activities. You will be expected to take initiative, have flexibility and be a team player as space is limited. If interested in joining us, please tell us a bit about yourself; your passions, your skills, experience and available dates.

    We look forward to you joining us for a mutually rewarding experience!

    Bronwyn & FAM

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will enjoy the beauty of nature on the farm, practice speaking French and English and feel what it is like to live in rural Canada. Visit Toronto, Niagara Falls, Bon Echo provincial park, Ottawa or Montreal to experience diverse environments and communities with so many amazing things to see and do! We have no problem picking you up or dropping you off up at the bus or train station to help in organizing your escapades.
    We also have knowledge of indigenous plans and animals, which can provide rich experiential learning opportunities for visitors.

  • Help

    Help

    Interior/exterior cleaning, maintenance, building, landscaping, painting and gardening.

    Basic knowledge of building maintenance, electrical, gardening, cooking, cleaning and any other skills are a bonus as we always have extra projects!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom, shared bathrooms, laundry with access to all other household amenities with all meals included. Contributing to meal preparation is an expectation. Workaway is about building community, key to fostering strong bonds and healthy relationships with one another.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Things to do in your free time at the Farm:
    Kayak on nearby river/lakes, fish, hike, build a bonfire, sunbathe, play the guitar, piano, bake, read, watch movies or go swimming in town (15 minutes drive).

    Day trips to local communities:
    Tweed, Madoc, Prince Edward County, Bon Echo Park, Peterborough and Kawartha Lakes Districts.

    Weekend trips:
    Toronto, Kingston (USA boarder), Ottawa, Montreal, Niagara Falls (USA boarder), Muskoka's Algonquin Park and Georgian Bay-Blue Mountain

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 367596163711