Come and help me around my beautiful home and garden in Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A large section in the suburbs with a small established native forest and a plethora of native birds and birdsong. 

    As you arrive it will look like you are in suburbia but the property backs onto a small forest which is peaceful and green! 

    There is a great forest walk closeby. The train and mall are 20 mins walk away and the bus to the city stops at the top of the street. Piha is a short 20 min drive over the Waitakere Mountains. For those without a car - I can drop to the city or pick up around my working hours. 

    Three bedrooms, 80sqm. I'm the homeowner, no kids and we have three cats in case you may have allergies. I was a backpacker for many years and enjoyed travelling the world. I like having the opportunity to showcase a Kiwi way of living, help people practice English and find their feet safely in New Zealand. I work for a charity 40 hours per week and tend to get home late.

    Health and safety is first and foremost with any volunteering. My focus is that guests are happy and healthy... and leave in as good or better shape than when they arrive. This means using common sense, working within the bounds of confidence and skill and using safely equipment whenever needed. Safe and sanitary food preparation habits is key to a happy, healthy house.

    Two cats live inside and are very curious. It's important to me that they are treated kindly. 

    Vegetarian/vegans are no problem as you're welcome to cook and we have a well-stocked kitchen. 

    The section is 25 minutes from the central CBD and 35 minutes to the airport.

    I try to match the volunteering help with the skills and interest of the volunteers. Help can be given in the morning or afternoon in most cases. Guests can double up helping on days to have other days off.

    Key things I'd love help with are gardening projects - experience with landscaping, working with hands etc or building skills for small projects are appreciated. 

    Other tasks that are helpful - helping keep the house tidy, watering plants and keeping the cat's company. 

    Thanks for reading!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Relaxed and friendly house large wrap-around verandahs and beautiful views at tree-top height into the bush. More space downstairs. Very fast, unlimited wifi. Netflix, Spotify etc... 

  • Help

    Help

    I try to match each experience and project to the guests. In most stays it is 4 hour help each day for free accommodation, all food, unlimited internet and amenities (power, water etc). Free parking included on street.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double or single room. Guests do their own cooking. They may choose to share with whoever's is here. Informal dining and eat when you're hungry !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Thanks and please don't hesitate to ask questions!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 7 days a week

Host ref number: 367383632617