Help needed with training Icelandic horses on a farm near by Egilsstaðir, East Iceland

Country

Iceland

updated  

Favourited 217 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    **CORONAVIRUS UPDATE **
    I'm ONLY open to host people that are already staying in ICELAND!

    We are in need for an experienced rider who can help us with dressage training. You need to know how to teach the horses from the ground and also on the horse this exercises:
    Half halt
    Leg yielding
    Shoulder fore
    Shoulder-in,
    Hunches in - out


    This also involves all kind of farm work and help in the house.
    The person has to be able to work whit others and also independently and have knowledge with
    groundwork and longeing 🐎🐴

    Best if you are a 👱‍♀️girl because there will be another girl here so you will have to share a room.


    About us:
    We are a easy going family of four (40, 36, 13, 10) we live in East Iceland not far from the region's capital, Egilsstaðir. We are surrounded by beautiful mountains, fields and lakes. We have 8 horses, 3 dogs, 8 hens and 35 baby chicks.
    Helping in and around our house is not only a thing what we have to do! We like it and make everything with love, give always all our best and take care of all our things!

    We like to spend time with our animals, go horseback riding and also longer horse trips where we ride whit the herd, play board games, cook, go fishing, meet friends and family, make trips in the surrounding and just take it easy and enjoy our garden or our surrounding…

    If you are an experienced whit Icelandic horses you can come on a horse trip where we ride whit the herd.
    Riding whit herd is one of the things that makes riding tours in Iceland completely different from tours in other countries is the fact that we take lots of spare horses along when we travel. The sight of 30 – 50 horses running free over the mountain trails with the wind in their mane is a view you will not forget –

    We love our homemade food, and hope you will too. We eat alot of meat / fish and eggs 🤠
    We do not drink or smoke so we are not able to accommodate smokers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to experience farm life in the beautiful countryside just outside Egilsstaðir town in Northeast Iceland.
    You learn about Icelandic horses and can ride the amazing tölt in the nature if you have experiences in Icelandic horse's.
    There is a lot of beautiful places to hike and ride. The hiking routes in Austurland are endless.
    You can also enjoy Iceland's first geothermal pool! Crystal clear water of Urriðavatn lake. Vök baths is only 10 km from our home :)

  • Help

    Help

    HOW YOU CAN SUPPORT US :)

    => HORSE TRAINING
    - Groundwork
    - Work in hand
    - Liberty

    => HOUSEWORK
    - Cooking dinner on weekdays
    - Vacuuming and sweeping
    - Grocery shopping and organic meal plan.

    => ANIMAL CARE
    - Train the dogs and teach them new tricks.
    - Feed the hen's and collect the eggs.

    => BUILDING/ CONSTRUCTION
    - Backyard playground for hens
    - Attach nesting box to side of coop
    - Diy fire pit
    - painting stable
    - Electric fence repairs

    => GARDENING
    We have our garden and greenhouse where we would like to grow our vegetables,-
    mow the lawn.

    We'll make sure you're comfortable with any task, and doing work you enjoy. We are looking for people who want to contribute. And those who would really appreciate the opportunity to be in nature. Work is 5 hours a day 5 days a week – sometimes by yourself.

    If you're physically fit, easy-going, willing to try hard and positive, we'd love to have you!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'd have a nice room in the house with a big window and gorgeous view. You will share the bathroom and kitchen facilities with the rest of the family. You are responsible for keeping your room tidy at all times. Feel free to spend time in the kitchen and living room just as other members of the family do.
    If we are hosting 2 people at the same time you may need to share the room.
    For your laundry we have a washing machine, which you can use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You get weekends off. It would be ideal for you to go explore the country. We live 15 km from Egilsstaðir and Egilsstaðir is the main centre for service, transportation and administration in East Iceland. It has excellent connections to remote and little-travelled East Fjords, and to Vatnajökull National Park.

    Also the bus goes just about anywhere in the country so you can practically see all of Iceland in the time you would be staying with us. Also hitch-hiking in Iceland is very safe, easy and fun.

    We're very flexible with making it easy for you to travel the country, so if you need extra days off on weekdays to do longer trips it's no problem at all. You'd then instead work an extra weekend or a few longer days to compensate.
    We always find a balance :)
    We also ask you to be flexible if we need you to work on a weekend, then you get a week day off instead :)

    Evening meal we eat together as a family. You will prepare your own breakfast and lunch, (with the food we buy) but can also join us if you'd like to eat whatever we're cooking.

    We can pick you up from the airport or the bus station if you like.
    If you are looking for a good place in beautiful surroundings this might be something for you! We are located on east Iceland, just 15 km from Egilsstaðir.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 362398667135